View Mobile Site

EU, Manteca, RC athletes receive CSEA scholarships

Text Size: Small Large Medium
POSTED April 22, 2017 12:19 a.m.

Several local student athletes were announced Friday as recipients of the A. Dale Lacky / California School Employees Association scholarship award winners.

According to CIF Sac-Joaquin Section, 48 in all were awarded $30,000 total in scholarships for outstanding athletic performance, community service, and academic success during their four years on high school.

The award is named after former Section and State CIF President Lacky, with the winners being recognize Tuesday at a breakfast award function at Hutchins Street Square in Lodi.

Jack Weaver, East Union High’s star quarterback, was one of four male athletes to win the $1,000 scholarship.

He played football for four years, baseball for three seasons, and is currently playing volleyball in its inaugural season.

Weaver has a 4.2 grade point average and is active in volunteer work. He will be playing football for the College of Idaho in the fall.

Katie O’Leary and Logan Van Vuren, both of Ripon Christian, along with Glaydis Sandoval of Manteca High will receive the $500 scholarships.

Sandoval has a 4.4 GPA and will be attending UC Davis to study biology or nursing. She played tennis during her four years with the Buffaloes and two years in basketball.

O’Leary played softball for two years with the Knight and was her team’s MVP last year. She has a 4.55 GPA and will be attending Brown University of the Ivy League. O’Leary plans to major in engineering.

Van Vuren played soccer all four years at RC. He also played two years of tennis.

Van Vuren, in addition, has won the Presidential Academic Excellence Award three times and was received the Distinguished Christian High School Leadership Award last year as a junior. He has a 4.16 GPA.

Leila Doty, who is a cross country runner from Western Sierra, and Brady Mello, a standout football / wrestler from Golden Valley, were awarded the Clarke Coover Scholarship.

Named in honor of former Section Commissioner Coover, this $1,500 scholarship goes each year to one outstanding male and female student athlete in the area.

Commenting is not available.

Commenting not available.

Please wait ...