View Mobile Site

Ripon Unified recognized retiring staff

Text Size: Small Large Medium
Ripon Unified recognized retiring staff

The Ripon Unified school board, from left (back row), Kit Oase, Ernie Tyhurst, Claire Wever (student board member), Caroline Hatto, President Chad Husky and Superintendent Sigrid ‘Ziggy’ Robeson pa...

VINCE REMBULAT / The Bulletin/

POSTED June 12, 2017 1:37 a.m.

Mona Ogden is one of 10 Ripon Unified School District retirees.

The principal at Park View Elementary School was recognized at last month’s  school board meeting for her years of service.

Ogden was joined by current staff members – included were first-grade teacher Diane Costa, paraprofessional Charlotte DeSelle, and fifth-grade teacher Donna Herrema – as among those  that stepped down at the end of the year.

Others retiring are Ripon High administrative assistant / office supervisor Mary Machado (29 years), RHS library tech Roxanna Buck (17 years), and district office staff members Susan Malizia (secretary to the Director of Curriculum, 24 years), Carolyn Treadway (Nutritional Services, 20 years), and Lydia Kalebjian (secretary to the Director of Student Services, six years).

“They have collectively 237 years of service all together,” said Sonia Lasyone, who is the RUSD’s Chief Business Officer.

Of the four from Park View, Costa has been with RUSD the longest with 37 years. DeSelle is finishing up her 32nd year with RUSD while Ogden, who started student teaching at Ripona Elementary School in 1986 before moving on to Weston, is wrapping up 32 years.

Herrema is wrapping up her 22 years.

Trustees announced Eva Matthews as the next principal at Park View.

Janet Bryan (sub paraprofessional), Jennifer Sparano (Weston Elementary, yard duty), Jose Saenz (Spanish), Parmveer Masuta (art), and Thomas Crocker (Director of Student Support Services) were the other new hires by the board.


To contact reporter Vince Rembulat, e-mail

Commenting is not available.

Commenting not available.

Please wait ...