View Mobile Site

Julie Sweeney city employee of year for ‘08

Text Size: Small Large Medium
Julie Sweeney city employee of year for ‘08

Manteca City Councilman Steve DeBrum, right, presents a special recognition award to fellow council member John Harris.

HIME ROMERO/The Bulletin/

POSTED March 23, 2009 4:44 a.m.
Julie Sweeney – a seven-year staff member in the finance department – is the 2008 City of Manteca Employee of the Year.

Sweeney was recognized along with employees who have been on the job for 5, 10, 15, 20, and 30 years during the 41st annual city worker appreciation and awards dinner at the MRPS Hall Saturday night.

Sweeney was credited with epitomizing a strong work ethic and being “150% focused on doing the best job possible for the city and fellow employees.”

She was lauded as dependable, dedicated, a problem solver, being able to meet all deadlines, continually expanding and enhancing job knowledge, being open to suggestions, and focusing on maintaining accuracy in their position.

Employees receiving service recognition were:

• ADMINISTRATION DEPARTMENT: 5-Year Pins Kelly Orlandi, Sue Ornelas


• FIRE DEPARTMENT: 10 Year Pins William Canfield, Glenna Dungan, Robert Grycel; 20 Year Pin Robert Villalovoz; 30 Year Pin  Chris Haas

• PARKS AND RECREATION DEPARTMENT: 5 Year Pins Mark Hall, Hugo Harrewyn, George Montross, Angel Sanchez; 20 Year Pins Rick DeCosta, John Grimson

• POLICE DEPARTMENT: 5 Year Pin Donna Shaun Ferraro; 10 Year Pins  Peggy Miller, William Walmer; 20 Year Pin Rex Osborn

• PUBLIC WORKS DEPARTMENT: 5 Year Pins Jeffrey Burkhardt, Terina Charlton, Cass Durkin, Walter Eusebio, Heather Grove, Lisa Harbin,  Brian Maruca, Joel Nevarez, George Ochoa, Manuel Santos; 10 Year Pins Miguel Aguiniga, Leesha Evans, Jay Kirby, Robert Sumner; 15 Year Pins  Michael Boyd, James DeJong, Jason Frisk, Lucky Shaw, Rick Sutton; 20 Year Pin Dave Frank

• RETIRED EMPLOYEES 2008: Bob Adams, Administration Department; Bob DeBord,CDD/Building Inspection Division; Gloria Fuentes, P/W Solid Waste Division; John Hillis Fire Department; Dell Holder, PW/Waste Water Treatment Division; Don Milam, PW/Engineering Division; Warren Shannon, PW/Waste Water Treatment Division

• EMPLOYEES HIRED IN 2008: Rick Alvarez, P/W Water Division; Ryan Avant, Fire Department; Joel Ayala, P/W Water Division; Lisa Blackburn,Police Department; Ricardo Caguiat, Community Development Department; Chris Christean, P/W Waste Water Treatment Division; Max Contreras, Parks & Recreation Department; Jeremy Damas, P/W Water Division; Andrea, Edick-Tavares, P/W Solid Waste Division; Elliot Eichel, Police Department; Mitchell Ellis, Police Department; David Estrada, P/W Water Division; Marisa Fernandez-Martinez, Police Department; Brian Hannink, Police Department; Rochelle Henson, Community Development Department; Brian Johnson, Parks and Recreation Department; Cliff Kuennen, Administration/IT Division; Mandy Kung. Community Development Department; Danny Lipe, P/W/ Building Maintenance Division; Michael Mazur, Community Development Department; Mark McAvoy, P/W Engineering; Adam McCallon, Police Department; Jason Mullings, PW/Solid Waste Division; Justin Nave, PW/Waste Water Treatment Division; Mark Nelson, Community Development Department; Christine Palacio, Administration/IT Division; Alan Parkman, Community Development Department; Steve Pinkerton, Administration; Yvette Ramos, Finance Department; Stephen Rodrigues, PW/Waste Water Treatment Division; Bradley Schemper Fire Department; Alan Shupperd, Police Department; Jennifer Smekofske, Public Works Department; William Smith, PW/Solid Waste Division; Pamela Takahashi, Police Department; Fernando Ulloa, Public Works Department; Heather Wattenbarger, Police Department; Debra Williams, Community Development Department; Bradley Wungluck, CDD/Building Inspection Division
Commenting is not available.

Commenting not available.

Please wait ...