View Mobile Site


McCreath honored twice; RC sophomore selected

Text Size: Small Large Medium

Ripon High receiver Jake McCreath celebrates his touchdown catch with no time left in the first half of the Indians’ nonleague game against Argonaut Sept. 16.

HIME ROMERO/The Bulletin

POSTED December 10, 2011 12:27 a.m.

Ripon High’s Jake McCreath was recognized with a major award while selected to both the first-team offense and defense by the Trans-Valley League.

In the Southern League, Andrew Brown of Ripon Christian is the lone sophomore to be honored.

It wasa  banner year for the rival schools competing in different leagues, and the all-league votes reflected that.

McCreath, a 6-foot-4 senior tight end, was named Outstanding Receiver of the TVL as well as a first-team defensive lineman. His brother, junior Josh McCreath, made the first-team offense as a running back. Fellow Indians joining them were offensive lineman Connor Jones, linebacker T.J. Flores and cornerback Cole Herrin.

Ripon placed third in the tough TVL with a 4-2 record. It finished 8-3 overall after getting upset by Livingston in the first round of the Sac-Joaquin Section Division-IV playoffs, 12-10, but 2011 was by far the team’s best in over a decade.

League champion Escalon (6-0, 13-1) and runner-up Hilmar (5-1, 12-2) tangled for a second time this year in the SJS Division-IV finals, with Hilmar prevailing 20-17.

Most of the TVL’s top honors went to the small-school powers.

Escalon’s Mark Loureiro is Coach of the Year, and Tony Vincent earned Outstanding Defensive Player of the Year. Modesto Christian quarterback Nathan Sudfeld, bound for the University of Arizona, was voted Outstanding Offensive Player.

Escalon star RB Josh Miguel (Outstanding Back), fellow Cougars Alan Gonzalez (Outstanding OL) and Shane Silveira (Outstanding DL), Zack Giuliano (Outstanding LB) of Hilmar and Alex Reynaga (Outstanding DB) of Riverbank) also captured major awards.

Brown is one of five Ripon Christian players selected to the all-SL team. Joining the school’s single-season record holder in rushing and touchdowns scored were two-way linemen Anton den Dulk and Jordan Goslinga, fullback/middle linebacker James Vander Schaaf and junior QB Danny Vos.

The Knights are fresh off their best finish (5-2, 7-5) in the program’s short eighth-year history. They notched their first postseason win — 60-26 over Sierra Ridge/Rite of Passage — and were eliminated in the semifinals by eventual SJS Division-VI champion Bradshaw Christian, 61-40.

Southern League champion Le Grand (12-0), a candidate for the California Interscholastic Federation’s small-school division state Bowl Game, racked up three of the four major awards. Running back/linebacker Daniel Guizar is MVP, prolific passer Alex Bucio is the Oustanding Back and Rick Martinez is Coach of the Year. Mariposa’s Bryce Williams earned Outstanding Lineman honors.

Commenting is not available.

Commenting not available.

Please wait ...