View Mobile Site


Seniors rule all-VOL first-team selections

Text Size: Small Large Medium

Andy Scott anchored Sierra High from the mound as its ace, posting a 2.60 ERA and earning all-Valley Oak League first-team recognition.

Bulletin file photo/

POSTED May 21, 2009 2:37 a.m.
Valley Oak League coaches paid homage to a talented graduating class at their annual year-end meeting, as all but five named to the all-conference first and second teams are seniors.

Despite a disappointing fifth-place finish, 2008 Sac-Joaquin Section Division IV playoff finalist East Union leads area schools with five selections.

Three-time defending champion Oakdale, which was upset by Placer 4-3 to complete a best-of-three sweep in the second round Wednesday, nearly swept the major awards.

Hondo Arpoika was named Coach of the Year, Cal-bound pitcher Justin Jones was voted Most Valuable Player and infielder Vince Helms shares the Offensive Player of the Year award with Ceres’ Robert Cope.

Oakdale junior Nick Vander Tuig, who signed with UCLA, is the only underclassmen to be voted onto the first team.

East Union catcher Wade Morten, the 2008 Offensive Player of the Year and Bulletin All-Area MVP, led area first-teamers with four homers and 14 RBIs to go with a robust .395 average.

Teammate Steven Weddington was terrific from the top of the order, making the first-team cut as an outfielder with a .438 average, good for third best in the VOL. He also had 14 RBIs and led the league with seven doubles.

Andy Scott was instrumental in leading Sierra to contendership, but the Timberwolves narrowly missed the postseason for a second straight season. Scott doubled as a shortstop and the staff’s ace from the mound, where the four-year varsity starter earned notice this past season. He was downright dominant at times and posted a 2.60 league ERA and 53 strikeouts.

Scott is joined by fellow Timberwolf Jacob Angelo, who hit .326 and was just as solid at second base as evidenced by his .950 fielding percentage.

Two-time first-team honoree and shortstop Ricky Acosta led Manteca with a .404 average. Second baseman Ryan Knisely and center fielder Sam Jorgensen were both a vote shy of making the first team.

East Union shortstop Marshall Swift, outfielder Frank Bailey and third baseman Garrett Fisher are also on the second team along with Sierra catcher Jordan Louie.

Weston Ranch’s lone representatives, shortstop Michael Piccirilli and pitcher/outfielder Chris Fleckenstein earned honorable mention. Sierra’s Jordan Ribota and Lukas Owens and John Ott of East Union also made honorable mention.
Commenting is not available.

Commenting not available.

Please wait ...