View Mobile Site

Manteca’s Anderson claims B4 division trophy dash as 99

Text Size: Small Large Medium
POSTED May 28, 2012 7:27 p.m.




Special to the Bulletin

STOCKTON - Those fortunate fans that were able to be part of the near capacity crowd at Stockton 99 Speedway for the annual Tri-Holiday Event, were treated to superb on track racing featuring  the Western late Models, Grand American Modified, Super Stock, Pure Stock (Bombers) and Basic 4-Cylinder (B4) categories.

The racing was highly competitive as racers in all categories battled each other door to door, fender to fender seeking the checkered flag. There were some on track incidents, but nearly all were totally racing related, as racers battled for position.

In the B4 division, Matt Anderson of Manteca won the 4-lap trophy dash sprint over Joseph Reichmuth of Manteca and Dave Kong, who came all the way from Jamaica to race. Joseph Reichmuth then went on to win the B4 Main Event, followed by Brad Mast, Justin Terry and Jennifer Corder (2nd, 3rd and 4th).

In the Pure Stock (Bomber Divison), Tyler Guzman of Oakdale won the trophy dash, but had to battle hard to gain a 3rd place Main Event finish after being placed in the back of the field for a minor suspension height violation on the rear of his recently repaired Chevy Nova race car. Rodney Tripp in the #08 Chevy Camaro took the Bomber division main event title, closely chased by Darin Adler in the #360 Chevy Camaro and Tyler Guzman.

In the Super Stock division, 2011 Series Champion Mike Graham of Oakdale handily captured the trophy dash win to celebrate with his son, Tyler, in the winner’s circle. The Super Stock Main Event featured several lead changes and some very close racing. Mike Graham looked like he was going to dominate the main event, as he had in the trophy dash, but after a couple race related caution flags wiped out any on track advantage he had gained, his car started to go away. His tires started to loose that all important grip and Rich Harper of Stockton was able to take advantage on one of the restarts, taking the lead. When the checkered flag fell, Rich Harper had his #5 car in the winner’s circle for the second time this season. Mike Graham of Oakdale finished 2nd and Robbie Knittel of Lodi finished 3rd.

In the Grand American Modified division, Mike Regelmen of Ripon drove his #63 car to the winner’s circle for the 4-lap trophy dash sprint, but found the main event to be a little tougher, as his cars handling went away about half way through, dropping him to a 10th placed finish. Wes Miller of Turlock finished 2nd in the trophy dash, ahead of Scott Winters from Tracy and Rich Lindgren from Rio Linda. Jay Linstroth took the Grand American Modified main event win followed by Scott Winters, Rich Lindgren and Wes Miller. Following a wild start to the main event, three drivers were knocked out of the field when they were involved in an on track racing incident that damaged their race cars bad enough to preclude them from returning to the action. Both the #98 cars, Ryan Stepps of Oakdale (#98) and Keegan Walmer of Portland, OR (#98K), along with Dave Stricklin (#3A) from Stockton were involved. No driver was injured in the incident.

The Western Late Models featured some very close early battles for position. Tim Sprugeon of San Ramon took the Trophy Dash in his #86 car over Chris Scribner of Loomis, Jeff Belletto of Modesto and Trevor Shlundt of Clovis. The main event opened with some amazing on track racing battles for position. On the first lap 5 of the 20 cars field were taken out on the back stretch as several racers battled for the same piece of on track real estate. Collected in the incident were Tim Sprugeon of Stockton, Nic Belletto of Modesto, Justin Philpott of Tracy, Adam Coonfield of Riverbank and Doff Cooksey of Stockton. As the race panned out, Chris Scribner became the car to beat, as his car seemed to come into its own as the race progressed. Event favorite and normal “heavy hitter”, Jeff Belletto went out on the 51st lap of the 100 lap due to mechanical problems. Dave Byrd of French Camp driving a new Oakdale based #92 Chevy, ran strong but had to settle for a 5th place finish. Colby Potts of Stockton ran a consistent race that parlayed into a strong 6th place finish. Chris Scribner of Loomis won the WLM main event followed by Stanislav Osterlund of Los Gatos, Todd Coral of Modesto and Luis Tyrell of Stockton.

In a final note, the Stockton 99 Chief Stewart, in an effort to enforce NASCAR and track racing rules and promote proper sportsmanship, issued the following fines and penalties on May 18 to the following racers due to their actions done during the race event held on May 12.  Bobby Simpson was assessed a $250 fine, expulsion and suspension for the duration of the 2012 Race Season. Ben Lewis Sr. and Jr. were each assessed a $250 fine and placed on probation until Dec.31, 2012. Jeremy Tucker was also assessed a $250 fine and place on probation until Dec. 31, 2012.





Commenting is not available.

Commenting not available.

Please wait ...