View Mobile Site

California cellphone fines could rise under bill

Text Size: Small Large Medium
POSTED August 28, 2012 9:01 p.m.

SACRAMENTO  (AP) — Gov. Jerry Brown will consider a bill that would raise the fine for illegally using a cellphone while driving in California from $20 to $30.

But the real cost for a first offense under the bill approved Tuesday by the state Senate would climb from about $160 to about $200, when court fees are included.

Repeat offenders would pay about $370, up from about $280. Repeat violations would also add points to drivers' records, potentially increasing their insurance costs.

Senators sent SB1310 to the Democratic governor's desk on a 28-9 vote.

Sen. Joe Simitian, a Palo Alto Democrat, says his bill will reduce deaths and collisions by discouraging using hand-held cellphones. The additional $10 fine would go to educate motorists.

Several Republicans said the fines are punitively high.

 

Commenting is not available.

Commenting not available.

Please wait ...