View Mobile Site

Event Sunday honors volunteers for improving Weston Ranch

Text Size: Small Large Medium
POSTED August 24, 2013 2:14 a.m.

WESTON RANCH — West Walker and the Weston Ranch Community Association will mark its one-year anniversary with a celebration of its leaders.

Stockton Mayor Anthony Silva, youth coach Paul Ostertag, and volunteers Anne Smith, Richard Smith and Mitzi Stiles will be among those honored during Sunday’s Community Appreciation Awards.

Winners in the categories of Dedicated Elected Official, Police Officer Appreciation, Youth Activities, Best Volunteer Organization, Individual Volunteerism, Youth Under 18 and Best New Effort will receive a plaque. The rest of the nominees receive a certificate.

The awards ceremony will run in conjunction with the community association’s first Annual Membership Meeting.

The festivities will take place at Paul Weston Park in Weston Ranch on Sunday, from 12:30 to 3 p.m.

The afternoon will also feature a book giveaway sponsored by the literacy club, raffle prizes for new members, a barbecue potluck and bounce houses.

The highlight, however, will an awards ceremony that honors elected officials, volunteers, service groups and individuals.

Silva will serve as the ceremony’s emcee.

“We want to recognize our volunteers,” said Walker, president of the Weston Ranch Community Association. “We have a new community association that just started up. We want to be able to recognize those in the community who are committed to improving Weston Ranch.”

More than 300 people voted in the online polls conducted on the association’s website, according to Walker. People were limited to one vote apiece; voting, however, was not limited to Weston Ranch residents.

Winners included:

• DEDICATED ELECTED OFFICIAL: Stockton Mayor Anthony Silva. Other nominees: Sam Fant, Manteca Unified School District; Michael Tubbs, councilman.

• POLICE OFFICER APPRECIATION: Stockton Unified School District officer Ben Torres. Other nominees: Stockton Lt. Tony Sajor; Stockton Community Service Officer Anthony Cooper, Jr.

• YOUTH ACTIVITIES: Coach Paul Ostertag. Other nominees: Coach Clemon Drain; Little League president Mike Keough; Anthony Silva; Anne Smith.

• BEST VOLUNTEER ORGANIZATION: Boys and Girls Club. Other nominees: H.O.P.E (Glenn Jose); MUSD (Fant); Bouncing Good Time (Jennifer Bucheit).

• BEST NEW EFFORT: Tie, H.O.P.E and Traci Gregg-Ramirez. Other nominees: Rochell Williams.

• INDIVIDUAL VOLUNTEERISM: Anne Smith, Richard Smith, Mitzi Stites. Other nominees: Tyra Vickers-Kearney; Shawn Tinsley; Kyle Ostertag; Matthew Julien; Keough; Jocelyn Hillyard; Dee Vickers; Gregg-Ramirez; Yvonne Trevino; Becca Julien; Robert Kearney; Dale Fritchen.

• YOUTH UNDER 18: No winner specified. Nominees include: Brian Tingle; Chris Stites; Kyle Ostertag; Katy Rodgers; Shawnice Murphy; Apryl Holdener; Cody Sass.

To James Burns, e-mail

Commenting is not available.

Commenting not available.

Please wait ...