View Mobile Site


DeBruyn named TVL’s top coach; five Ripon standouts on 1st team

Text Size: Small Large Medium

Ripon High standout and first-team selection David Alvarez dribbles past Riverbank’s Edson Duran during a first-place battle in the Trans-Valley League.

HIME ROMERO/The Bulletin/

POSTED November 22, 2013 12:36 a.m.

Ripon High’s Jamie DeBruyn was named the Trans-Valley League’s 2013 Coach of the Year for the first time after leading his Indians to a historical season in which the Indians earned the school’s first championship in boys soccer.

They also hosted, and won,  their first-ever home playoff game on Nov. 7 against Bret Harte at Stouffer Field, 3-0.

The 11th-year coach isn’t taking all the credit. He knows his five All-TVL standouts — and five honorable mentions — had plenty to do with him being recognized at the year-end coaches meeting.

“I don’t take much of the glory for it,” he said. “It’s the hard work and what they do on the field that got me the award. It wasn’t so much the Xs and Os, but it’s more getting the acknowledgement from some of the other coaches that I coach against.”

Ripon (17-6-3) had three seniors — David Alvarez, Nate Machado and Matt Uecker — make the first team. Underclassmen Jonathan Soto and Thomas Sidtikun were also on the first team for the Indians.

Alvarez, who played forward for the last half of the TVL schedule, played his only season for Ripon this past fall. For the preseason, and first half of league, Alvarez (11 goals, 11 assists) played the center-defensive position. After he was moved to the front, Alvarez finished the out the year by scoring six goals during the last three TVL contests.

“(Alvarez) was getting some good runs and getting some nice passes,” DeBruyn said. “We started off the second half (of TVL) that way, and then all of a sudden it started clicking for us. It was unfortunate it was not until later in the year.”

Machado was the second senior captain to make the first team after working two years as a defensive starter. Machado scored one goal this year during a 12-0 win over Modesto Christian.

Uecker was the third senior on the squad and had a respectable year playing defensive midfield.

“Matt probably went through the biggest change,” DeBruyn explained. “He has played forward his freshman, sophomore and junior years. But at the (Ripon Christian) tournament (this year) I moved him.

“It was one of those pieces that we found along the way. He just gelled right into that position and helped stabilize that middle. I felt like it just made us more dangerous and productive.”

Offensive midfielder Thomas Sidtikun was dangerous, and productive, as a freshman. The All-TVL first teamer led the club in scoring with 15 goals to go with six assists.

Two-year varsity starter, sophomore keeper Jonathan Soto (84 saves) was the last first teamer honored and the only goalie from the TVL.

“(Soto) was the anchor of the defense,” DeBruyn added. “He definitely saved us in some games when we needed him to. It was nice to see him get the nod.”

Ripon’s season came to a halt against Galt in the semifinals on Nov. 13 on the road, 4-0. Galt, who was the runner-ups at the Sac-Joaquin Section Division IV tournament in 2012, moved down and flew past the Division V competition with ease.

Galt (19-4-3) beat Highlands 8-1 in the first round and then captured the section banner with an 8-0 win over Riverbank after knocking off Ripon four days prior.

In fact, Galt was one of three teams from the Sierra Valley Conference to capture section championships (Cosumnes Oaks in Division II and Liberty Ranch in Division III).

“I think we just ran into the unfortunate seeding arrangement of the CIF with Galt falling down to our division,” DeBruyn concluded. “If Galt didn’t drop, and another team came in, I think you see a much different outcome. They just steam rolled through. They’re a good team.”

Ripon seniors Alex Aguilar, Ross Woods and Flavio Valadao earned honorable mentions, as did junior Jared Lawlor and sophomore Victor de la O.

Osiris Guerrero of Hilmar was the Offensive MVP, and Riverbank’s Eric Hernandez and Ruben Negrete of Orestimba were named co-Defensive MVPs.

Commenting is not available.

Commenting not available.

Please wait ...