View Mobile Site

Seven area players on all-TVL team

Ripon freshman selected to first team

Text Size: Small Large Medium
Seven area players on all-TVL team

Senior forward Matty Gay leads five Ripon Indians on the all-Trans Valley League boys soccer team. Gay finished the season with 17 goals and 21 assists.

Bulletin file photo/

POSTED November 25, 2009 2:14 a.m.
The loss of record-holding goal scorer Eric Cavanaugh had little effect on Ripon this season.

The Indians repeated their third-place finish in the Trans Valley League, set a new program record with 21 single-season overall victories and five players were named to the all-conference first team.

Rival Ripon Christian had two players named to the first team.

Senior Matty Gay and freshman Arik Anaya picked up where Cavanaugh left off. Gay, who holds the frosh-soph team’s scoring record, led the Indians (10-4-1, 21-6-1) with 17 goals and 21 assists.

Anaya’s impressive varsity debut consisted of 15 goals and six assists.

Joining the offensive tandem are defensive standouts Caleb Christian and Johnny DeDonatis along with junior goalkeeper Tim Combley. Combley recorded 120 saves and 13 shutouts while allowing just 23 goals in 27 matches.

Scott Faure led Ripon Christian (3-12-0, 9-16-1) with 12 goals and four assists and earned all-TVL first-team honors. Standout sweeper Steve Vander Molen was also named to the first team for the Knights.

Four more Indians earned honorable mention, three being juniors.

Senior Matt Ratto shined in his return to the pitch after taking a year off, bolstering a solid back line while providing an athletic target on set pieces. He finished with five goals.

Bryant Macias should give Anaya a nice complementary forward to work with for another year after producing 16 goals and 16 assists.

Midfielders Jared Ratto (eight goals, five assists) and Jared Berglund (nine goals, five assists) also made the honorable-mention list, joining Ripon Christian senior midfielder Greg Mulder and senior goalie Ben DeRuiter, who racked up 178 saves on the season.

League champion Riverbank (11-2-2, 14-8-4), which lost to Sac-Joaquin Section Division V winner Patterson 1-0 in the semifinal round of the playoffs, garnered the major awards. Martin Gonzalez was voted Coach of the Year, and junior sweeper Carlos Harvey was named the Most Valuable Player.
Commenting is not available.

Commenting not available.

Please wait ...