SACRAMENTO – Do you have questions about general driving related requirements like registration and insurance? Are you unclear about laws and restrictions related to driving? The California Department of Motor Vehicles has answers. “Save Time by Going Online,” at www.DMV.ca.gov.
Q: I live in Nevada and frequently travel by car to California on business. Do the new text messaging and cell phone laws apply to me as well?
A: These laws apply to anyone driving in California, even if the driver is just visiting. In order to prevent cell phone related collisions both laws prohibit drivers from using electronic wireless communication devices to write, send or read text-based messages; motorists are required to use a hands-free device when talking on their cell phone while driving. The base fine for the first offense is $20 and $50 for subsequent convictions. However, with the addition of penalty assessments, the total amount can be more than triple the base fine. To learn about these laws in greater detail, please visit www.DMV.ca.gov/cellularphonelaws/index.htm. Save Time. Go Online!
Q: I am applying to become a commercial truck driver. What documents do I need to bring with me to the DMV?
A: Good question. The following link contains all the required documents, forms and prerequisites toward obtaining a commercial driver license: http://dmv.ca.gov/commercial/commercial.htm. However, remember to save an extra trip to the DMV and make sure to bring your valid Social Security Card, because this is one of the most commonly forgotten items on application day. Save Time. Go Online!
Q: My daughter is 16 and just received her driver license last week. She wants to drive her best friend, who is also 16, to school. Is it ok if she receives a letter of approval from her friend’s parents?
A: No. Even with the permission of a parent, your daughter may not drive with anyone under the age of 20 unless a licensed driver over 25 is in the vehicle. She also may not drive between the hours of 11 p.m. and 5 a.m. without a licensed driver over 25. These restrictions are in place for the first 12 months your daughter is licensed.
The DMV website has a section dedicated to new drivers and their parents with more details on new driver restrictions. To view the page, visit www.DMV.ca.gov, and under the Home tab, click Teens. I encourage you to visit the page to learn about the provisions your daughter will have to follow over the next year. Save Time. Go Online!