By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Cuevas Arevalo, Garcia earn Character Counts at Lincoln
Placeholder Image

At Lincoln Elementary School’s eighth-grade promotion exercises, Principal Steve Anderson said Wednesday that the highest honor bestowed by Manteca Unified at this level is the Character Counts Award.
He then announced Natalie Cuevas Arevalo and Jose Garcia as this year’s recipients during the special event held at the nearby Manteca High gymnasium.
The school is currently undergoing renovations, hence, the change of venue for this year only, according to Anderson.
Garcia also earned the prestigious honor cord for maintaining a grade point average between 3.5 and 3.99. He was joined by classmates Karen Alvarez, Stephanie Cortez, Dillon Doyle, Phoebe Esquivel, Michelle Gomez, Martha Avila Jimenez, Luis Cerpas Lopez, Eduardo Medina Medina, Antonio Moreno and Kharismah Sahagun-Escalante.
Ellie Clegg, Noemi Espino Barrios, Desiree Medina, Pete Mendoza, Ashima Sareen and Andrea Verdin also received honor cords with their 3.0 through 3.49 GPAs.
Cerritos and Carlos Kenneth Domingo were awarded the Distinguished Scholar Award.
Outstanding Student Awards went to Cerritos and Medina Medina (Athletic Award); Jimenez and Michelle Gomez (Music); Moreno (Robert Morgan Science Award)l and Janessa Gunter and Jose E. Sanchez (Most Improved – Diligent Hard Working).
Student body president Sophia Cerritos welcomed those in attendance and shared memories with Avila Jimenez of the past year.
Nick Dalzell and Sahagun-Escalante provided student reflections, present and future.
The Lincoln Class of 2016 also consisted of the following: Juliet Aguirrie Owens, Jayden Arendt, Troy Avila, Kevin Bravo, Izayha Cortez, Haylee Cozby, Angel Damian Diaz, Nayeli Espinoza, Sergio Espinoza, Vianca Espinoza, Daisy Gallardo, Angel Garay, Lucretia Gee, Melissa Gomez, Brittany Gonzalez.
Luis Govea Cubillo, Ruben Hernandez Arcadia, Matthew Juarez, Harjot Lalli, Valeria Leon, Francli Lopez Hernandez, Alejandro Marin Cruz, Cassandra Melgarejo, Enrique Ortega Cantu, Ofelia Perez Martinez, Dominic Rasmy, Jose G. Sanchez, Austin Smith, Kamiko Van Dyke, Sofia Venerio, Pedro Verdier Parra, and Madeline Wheeler.