By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Lincoln promotes 52 to high school
pic lincoln-g-1 n-LT
From left, Eryn Scott, Samanta Cerritos, and Hazel Vera display their Certificate of Promotion from the Manteca Unified School District at Wednesdays ceremony at Lincoln Elementary School. - photo by VINCE REMBULAT

What does it mean to be a Lincoln Raider?

Plenty, if you’re Samanta Cerritos.

She’s was the student body president at Lincoln Elementary School this past year and one of the speakers at Wednesday’s  promotion ceremony of the Manteca Unified School District.

Cerritos took exceptional pride to being a Raider since she along with Imanol Fernandez earned the Outstanding Student Athletic Award.

Alondra Alvarez Garcia, Andrea Becerra, Natalie Carillo Ruiz, Maria Flores, Kevin Lin, Andreina Sanchez, Nayeli Medina, Zaleti Vargas, Hazel Vera and Cerritos were among Distinguished Scholars while Brandi Hauser, Yaneli Lopez, Caitlin Lankford, Manminder Kaur, Maricela Martinez, Eryn Scott, Karen Wells, Casey Robinson and Fernandez were each Honor Cord recipients.

Wells was named the Outstanding Student Leadership Award, Kaur and Vargas both earned the Robert Morgan Science Award, and Vera and Hauser claimed the Music Award.

Principal Steve Anderson was on hand to make the presentation of the awards.

Altogether, 52 were honored in the school cafeteria before parents, teachers, faculty, and guests. They were welcomed by Vice Principal Randi Fowzer, who also introduced the district officials including Senior Director of Business Services Jacqui Breitenbucher and Trustee Evelyn Moore.

Martinez gave a speech on the reflections of the past while Flores shared some of her Lincoln memories and Scott talked about the future.

Many here will be moving on to Manteca High.

“I’m excited and nervous (about going to MHS),” said Flores.

The Lincoln Class of 2015 is as follows:

Alondra Alvarez Garcia, Isaac Archer, Andrea Becerra, Kiana Blanco, Christopher Cadle, Natallie Carrillo Ruiz, Samanta Cerritos, Ericka Cortez, Jylene De La Riva, Julio Delgardo Muro, Anjelique Elmore Butler, Martin Espinoza, Estrella Estrada Gonzalez, Imanol Fernandez, Maria Flores, Alexandra Galvan, Destini Gomez, Samuel Gonzales, Brandi Hauser, Ricardo Hernandez, Anthony Herrera, Christina Herrera, Manminder Kaur, Roberto Lagunes, Caitlin Lankford, Francisco Larios.

Kevin Lin, Yaneli Lopez, Maricela Martinez, Josiah Melchor, Marisela Mendoza, Anthony Mendoza, Zackery Murphy, Aurora Pac, Sarahi Perez, Johnae Pettus, Sergio Ramirez, Cody Rhodes, Christopher Rivera, Casey Robinson, Salma Rodriguez, Eryn Scott, Edgar Torres Gonzalez, Zaleti Vargas, Bianey Vazquez Corona, Jose Venegas Rojas, Hazel Vera, Arthur Villarreal, Karen Wells.