By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Myrick oversees final graduation as Cowell principal
pic fc-3
French Camp eighth-grade students receive instructions prior to the promotional event Wednesday at Mossdale School. - photo by VINCE REMBULAT
Harriet Myrick checked briefly for rain clouds on Wednesday.

The eighth-grade promotion ceremony was the last official act for the retiring principal of Joshua Cowell School. She passed the torch to Bonnie Bennett, who will take over at the helm.

But this day belonged to the 43 youngsters who will be entering high school in the coming months as freshmen.

Myrick certified her students for promotion to the ninth grade before family, friends and special guests in the outdoor courtyard.

Thankfully, those attending the function managed to stay dry, with Joseph Eavenson leading in the flag salute, Alex Vazquez playing his rendition of the National Anthem, Skye Lopez providing the welcoming speech, and the group of Vazquez, Eavenson, Julian Madrigal, Tyler Cox, Jacob Orner, Ola Mae Blue, Harpreet Singh, Michelle Avila and Ana Blanquet sharing their memories during the class history.

Thirty-two French Camp School students were promoted during the promotional event held at Mossdale School.

The change of venue was necessary since the French Camp campus is currently undergoing construction of the multi-purpose building.

Anthony Cervantez led in the flag salute.

Principal Joanne Balestreri provided the welcoming speech along with the introduction of special guests – included were school board member Manuel Medeiros and Assistant Superintendent Don Halseth – while Estefania Rosario, Yvonne Torres, and Victor Garcia served as student speakers.

In addition, Balestreri and Vice Principal Maria Fisicaro made the announcement of the award winners.

At Joseph Widmer School, some 107 eighth-grade students received their certificates for promotion inside the multi-purpose building.

Principal Suzan Turner-Kelly introduced the valedictorians. Included were Ernesto Rodriguez, Brianna Fernandez, Danielle Elemento, Lucas Widmer, Simrenpal Kaur, Haley Nieves, Andre Carrillo, Gurpreet Atwal, Amy Thongmanivong, Felipe Contreras, and Gabrielle Deloyola.

Bryan Ballesteros led in the Pledge of Allegiance while Courtenay Brown welcomed those attending the special event at Joseph Widmer.