By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Sierra High Hall of Fame nominees sought
Sierra High Hall of Fame inductee Sharon Amick wipes away a tear of joy as fellow inductee Matthew Vaughn and athletic director Anthony Chapman, left, applaud, earlier this year. - photo by HIME ROMERO/ Bulletin file photo

Sierra High’s Homecoming celebration will feature a new wrinkle.

Two days after crowning its new queen and princess at halftime of the varsity football game, Sierra will induct its third Hall of Fame class in a ceremony overlooking the Manteca Golf Course.

Vice Principal Greg Leland announced on Monday that the Hall of Fame induction ceremony has been moved to Sunday, Sept. 29.

The Timberwolves host Kimball on Friday, Sept. 27, in their Valley Oak League opener.

The deadline for Hall of Fame nominations is midnight, Aug. 30. Inductees will be notified on Monday, Sept. 2.

The ceremony will be held at Chez Shari, beginning at 5 p.m.

Nomination forms can be picked up at the school and must be accompanied by a letter of recommendation from the nominator. The candidate’s high school and career information must also be submitted.

Newspaper and magazine clippings, copies of scorebooks and statistics may also be submitted.

All candidates will be judged on their significant and/or long-term contributions to Sierra High, their chosen career and/or notable contributions to the communities they live in.

Applications should also include and observe: a portrait; copies should be on 8.5-by-11-inch paper; and copies should be typed. The committee also asks that nominators not use notebooks with plastic sheet protectors and that accomplishments aren’t underscored with a highlighter. If you feel the need to place emphasis, use an underline or arrow.

The ceremony was originally scheduled for May 19, but Sierra’s Hall of Fame committee wanted the celebration to coincide with Homecoming festivities.

The Hall of Fame committee includes Leland, Priscilla Ohnmacht, Cynthia Frausto, Derek Rosendin, Carolina Ortega, Anthony Chapman and Steve Clark.

Sierra’s original Hall of Fame class included: Rick Arucan, the school’s first-ever principal; Vern Gebhardt, the school’s first-ever athletic director; Mario Enriquez, a 2006 graduate who continues to champion the Peer Resource program; David Ulibarri, a distinguished athlete who would later win a Big West Conference championship in the 800-meter run; and Lindsey Pavao, whose ability to sing captured the attention of the celebrity judges on “The Voice.”

Nomination forms are available on the school’s website: Submit them to: Sierra High School, attention: Greg Leland; 1700 Thomas Street, Manteca, Ca. 95337.