By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Veritas conducts 10th annual 8th grade promotion ceremony
pic veritas-g-2 n
Veritas eighth-grade students patiently wait for their row to be called for receiving their promotional certificates. - photo by VINCE REMBULAT

Persabel Tecle looked at Tuesday’s ceremony at Veritas Elementary School for eighth-grade students as more than just a promotion.

“It’s about growing, changing and moving on,” said the valedictorian at this 10th annual event held in the school’s multi-purpose building.

Principal Tracie Crawford, who has been at Veritas since the school’s opening, kicked off the promotional exercises by welcoming those in attendance. Included were family, friends, and special guests.

Besides Tecle, who maintained a 4.0 grade point average during the past two years, the school recognized Sierra Trump and Cole Soldate for the Manteca Unified Character Counts awards, Julionna Herrera for Academic Achievement in Math, and Areej Chounhry and Ariana Rodriguez for Academic Excellence.

The awards were announced by teachers Wendy Ryan and Hortencia Garcia.

Crawford presented the Class of 2015 to Cheryl Meeker, the district’s Senior Director of Elementary Education. She accepted the eighth graders for the awarding of their promotional certificate for high school.


Included were the following:

Angel Aguilar, Daniel Aguilar, Manuel Aguilar, Aalyah, Aguon, Magaly Alcauter, Mehreen Ali, Isela Alvarado, Shawn Bettancourt, Slyder Blyth, Mathew Carrillo, Mitchell Casetta, Areej Choudhry, Marissa Clapp-Catalano, Austin Cook, Crystal Coronel, Crystal Craig, Laura Davis, Nallely Delvalle Ham, Manuel Echeverria, Alexys Elizondo, Alejandro Espinoza, Seerit Gill, Tyler Greenburg, Gina Gregory, Gurnoor Guron, Julionna Herrera, Eric Huynh, Isaac Jordan, Ny’Gee Jordan, Simran Kaur, Gedona Kelete, Derrick Kuwana.

Juanya Laddtermore, Joseph Lomeli, Destinee Love, Laica Marte, Joy Martinez, Alexandra Monte, Jose Munoz Moreno, Angel Navarro, Denise Ornelas, Osasogie Osakue, Napoleon Pablo, Irish Pacheco, Benjamin Perez, Noemi Perez, Hans Ponte, Michelle Ramirez-De La Torre, Aaron Ramos, Izabella Rayevich, Ariana Rodriguez, Erik Salazar, Stephanie Sanchez, Joyce Sebastian, Cole Soldate, Brandon Tan, Joseph Tarango, Persabel Tecle, Carlos Tovar, Sierra Trump, Andrea Valladares-Bonilla, Demitrius Valle Daigle, and Gaspar Vera.