By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Wholl get nod Tuesday as mayor of Manteca?
Placeholder Image
Four candidates seeking election in Manteca’s marquee race for mayor on Tuesday all have city government experience.

Incumbent Willie Weatherford has 14 years on the City Council including two four-year terms as mayor. He also is Manteca’s retired police chief and is a former city manager-police chief for Galt.

Carlon Perry has 10 years of council service including a four-year term of mayor, Tuesday is the second time Perry and Weatherford have ran against each other for mayor. The first time, Weatherford lost. The second time, Perry lost. Perry also has served on appointed municipal boards including the Manteca Planning Commission.

Debby Moorhead was elected two years ago to the City Council and is at the mid-point of her four-year term.

The fourth candidate - Ben Cantu - finished a strong third two years ago in the council race. He also has more than 30 years of experience with the city primarily in planning.

Four people are seeking two council seats. Incumbent John Harris has served for 16 years while incumbent Vince Hernandez has eight years on the council. Challenger Samuel Anderson has sought a council seat twice before. The only newcomer in Manteca municipal races is Richard Behling who is running for council.

In Lathrop, three people are running for a two-year term mayor including incumbent Kristy Sayles. The challengers are Stephen Dresser and J. “Chaka” Santos.

Voters will also elect two council members. Candidates are Sonny Dhaliwal, Brent Maynor, Rosalinda Valencia, and Omar Ornelas. Fifth council candidate Gene Neely bowed out of the race but his name will still be on the ballot.

Ripon has four hopefuls seeking two council seats. The two incumbents Chuck Winn and Dean Uecker are being challenged by two former council members Dan Prince and Carolyn Jensen.

Manteca Unified voters will be electing the majority of the seven member board.

Running against Area 2 incumbent Manuel Medeiros is Joey Ermitanio.

Area 4 incumbent Nancy Teicheira is facing William Van Ryn.

Voters will select two Area 5 board members. Competing against Evelyn Moore for the seats are Chuck Carpenter and Don Scholl.

Two seats are open on the Lathrop Manteca Fire District board. The candidates are Robert Gleason, Tye Peyton, and Daryl Dyk.

Voters will elect two board members for the French Camp Rural Fire District from among Joy Lynn Gish, Michelle Beckwith, Brandon Burlingame, Serina Lee, William Smith, and Nancy Smith.

Ripon Consolidated Fire District voters will elect two board members. The candidates are Adam Clapp, D Van Der Maaten, and Bryan Perkins.

Retired San Joaquin County Superintendent of Schools Rick Wentworth is running against Lisa Turner for the Delta College Area 7 seat.

Voters in Manteca, Ripon, and Lathrop all have the chance to cast votes in a race that is getting national attention - the battle for the 11th Congressional seat.

Two-term incumbent Jerry McNerney is regarded as being on shaky ground by various organizations predicting the Republicans will regain control of the House of Representatives. He is being challenged by David Harmer.

Incumbent Dennis Cardoza is being challenged for the 18th Congressional District post by Michael Berryhill Sr.

Incumbent Bill Berryhill is being challenged for the 26th Assembly seat by Tim Wentz while Assembly 17th District incumbent Cathleen Galgiani faces Jack Mobley.