By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Ripon Chamber presents annual awards
Ripon-CofC-inst-DSC 6079 edited-1a
Business of the Year honors went to Kevin Hawes representing Ability Mortgage, back center, for an outstanding year of service to the community. In the front row from left are chamber volunteer Jeremiah North, Ripon Unified Educator of the Year Kathy Woodson, Firefighter of the Year Chad Cheek; back row on both sides of Hawes are Ripon Police Officer of the Year Detective Sergeant Terri Jensen and Ripon Christian Schools Educator of the Year Sherwin Heyboer. - photo by GLENN KAHL

RIPON - Some of Ripon’s most community-minded individuals were honored Thursday during the Ripon Chamber of Commerce’s Annual Installation and Awards Dinner at the Spring Creek Golf & Country Club.

San Joaquin County Supervisors Ken Vogel and Leroy Ornellas officially swore in the new board members and chamber officers before a crowd of more than 100.

Newly installed chamber president Janell Zuidervaart presented outgoing president Marge Imfeld with a desk trophy in honor of her year of service to the Ripon business community.

The Business of the Year honor went to Kevin Hawes of Ability Mortgage.

Ripon Unified Superintendent of Schools Louise Johnson and past superintendent Leo Zuber called up Park View Elementary teacher Kathy Woodson to receive the Educator of the Year award.

Ripon Christian School Superintendent Kerry Manus presented teacher Sherwin Heyboer with a similar Educator of the Year award saying he was always the first one at work in the morning and usually the last to leave the campus.

Firefighter of the year was presented to volunteer Chad Cheek by Fire Chief Dennis Bitters. The chief was quick to note that he could always depend on Cheek being wherever he was needed in the fire service – and without pay.

Detective Sergeant Terri Jensen was chosen for the Ripon Police Officer of the Year award by the supervisory staff at the police department.  The presentation was made by Chief Ed Ormonde who lauded his detective sergeant for her work ethic.

Interim Chamber Executive Director Sam Carhart singled out Jeremiah North for the Volunteer of the Year Award for always being ready to help when there was a job to be done.

The outgoing board members were Ron Douma, Cliff Jorgensen and Marge Imfeld after her 12 years of service.  

The newly established executive board is made up of Janell Zuidervaart, president; John Heida, vice president; Danielle Pierce, secretary; and Kristine Griesheimer treasurer.

Board members sworn in included Kevin Hawes, John Mangelos and Ed Ormonde.  Returning members of the board of directors are Lori Adams, Darryl Bartels, John Heida, Leo Zuber and Jake parks