By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Lathrop School eighth graders implored to make good choices
Placeholder Image

Eighth graders being promoted at Lathrop Elementary School were told Tuesday morning to “Make good choices and have the persistence with character to persevere in what has to be done,” as they were being promoted to high school life.

They were listening to the words of Lathrop High School Principal Michael Horwood in their school’s multi-purpose room that was crowded with parents and friends.  Most are planning to attend Lathrop High School.

The processional song “Time of Your Life” opened the even followed by the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag led by Delia Nunez.  The fourth through sixth grade choir sang the National Anthem followed by a welcome to the audience by Principal David Silveira.

Giving the Class of 2015 address was Genevie Salcedo.

The lyrics of “My Wish” served as the recessional song as the students marched out of the multi-purpose room.

A promotion dance and party was scheduled from 2 until 4 p.m. at the school. 

Students being promoted to the ninth grade include Jaime Abida, Salvador Almanza, Aliyah Arec-Pangelinan, Nallely Avila, Linda Banuelos, Juan Berrera, Rosemarie Bartolome, Samantha Berlin-Mafffey, Wendy Bucio Martinez, Karina Chavez, Adrian Corona, Roger Crull, Alondra Cruz-Orejel, Angelica Cruz-Orejel, Christopher Cruz-Calvo, Hector Denis Pelayo, Felix Diaz Zamora, Marissa Diaz, Terilyn Do, Willow Farrar, Sophie Fernandez, Jesus Vincente Fierros, Anicia Flores, Joshua Flores, Raymond Garza, Andres Gonzalez, Luis Gonsalez, Alexis Gutierrez, Gabriel Gutierrez, Bryce Harlan, Aaron Henderson, Kassandra Hernandez Ceja, Joey Hernandez, Gabriel Herrera, Victor Herrera, Dario Hunter, James Hursell, Hasmine Insogna, Lily Italiano, Abdul Jallie, Daniel Jauregui-Velazquez, John Jenkins, Jayden Lopez, Karina Lopez, Briana Manley-Inostroz, Hayvin McAtee, Luz Mejia, Enya Mezwuitic, Julio Montano, Ayslinn Montes, Jesus Mora Silva, Cezar Morga, Marilyn Nguyen, Christian Nordel, Delia Nunez, Victor Nuno, Alejandro Ochoa, Faviola Ochoa, Zennaya Ortega, Elisa Ortiz, Irelin Pena Hernandez, Samantha Pena, Rogelio Perez, Andrew Perry, Gabriel Pineda, Natalina Portillo, Jonjairo Ramirez Pinto, Alberto Ramirez, Yolanda Ramirez, Adriana Rodriguez,Alias Rodriguez, Carlos Rosas, Emily Rubalcava, “Tania Rubio- Estrada, Bryan Ruby Zamudio, Jonathan Salazar Garcia, Genevie Salcedo, Christian Sanchez, Yakelin Sanchez-Ramirez, Karinjit Singh, Evelyn Sosa, Mria Soto Aguilar, Adan Soto, Juan Soto, larissa Sulamo, Patricia Tapia, Sergio Tapia, Elizabeth Terra, John Dale Tongco, Trinity Torres, Juliana Tovar, Juan Valerio, Daniel Vargas, Destiny Vargas, Iliana Vargas and Ashley Victorine.

Graduates were scheduled to go on a Great America trip today with a tri-tip lunch.  They will be meeting at the ACE train station in Lathrop and arrive at Great America at 9 a.m.  The train will leave Great America shortly before 7 p.m. and arrive back in Lathrop at 8 p.m.  Their last day of school is on Friday which they are required to attend as a minimum day.