By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Cowell 8th graders head to high school
Cowell grad
Zackery Bolden, Dylan Quintana, Izzy Lopez and Lewis Vargas share a laugh while waiting for the ceremony to begin at Joshua Cowell. - photo by JASON CAMBELL/ The Bulletin

 When one door closes, another opens.
And the Joshua Cowell Promoting Class of 2018 was ready to run through that door straight into high school.
With friends and family looking on Tuesday morning, the promoting students – the majority of which will be going to Manteca High School – walked across the stage and accepted their certificates of completion to mark the end of their elementary education.
Matthew Hathaway welcomed the audience and led them through the Pledge of Allegiance, while Student Body President Ryen Scott, Brittney Barrington and Sarah Medved each gave speeches detailing the time spent in elementary school together and the future that lays ahead.
Special awards were handed out by Manteca Unified Board Vice President Bob Wallace and Vice Principal Katie Francis, and students Jasmine Gonzalez and Leilani Rios rounded out the speeches before the class was formally accepted for meeting all of the requirements to move on to the next phase of their education.
Promoting to high school will be Jose Aceves Gutierrez, Gannon Anderson, Makayla Baker, Brittney Barrington, Sean Beauchamp, Zackery Boldon, Anthony Bondoc, Khianna Branson, Daniel Buenrostro, Emily Canales, Julian Cash, Jocelyn Castellanos Gutierrez, Gabriel Chatham, Simone Connor, Jaden Curry Santos, Cassandra Derma, Adriana Esquivel-Estrada, Mike Galvan, Anthony Garcia, Julissa Garza Calderon, Jasmine Gonzalez, Steadman Gray, Arman Hakim, Charles Hall, Matthew Hathaway, Jack Heenan, Arat Hernandez Martinez, Adriana Jeronimo Vasquez, Ryleigh King, Megan Krein, Vincent Lemos, Miles Lerma, Isabella Lopez, Alexis Lujan, Alfredo Luna, Edgardo Matas, Sarah Medved, Sean Melan, Eric Manuel Norris, Davis Nguyen, Joseph Obrochta, Mariel Angeline Oronce, J’Aidan Powell, Dylan Quintana, Esmerelda Ramirez, Leilani Rios, Tavis Rollins, Gianna Sandoval, Fernando Sauceda, Ryen Scott, Iyanna Silva, Jayden Siemen, Jonathan Solis, Isabella Solis, Lewis Vargas, Makenzie Vieira and Aryanna Waterhouse.

To contact reporter Jason Campbell email or call 209.249.3544.