By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Manteca filing extended to Wednesday
Placeholder Image

So far six people have qualified for the Nov. 8 election for two Manteca City Council seats — three current Planning Commission members, a former city planner and one incumbent.
And because one of the two incumbents didn’t file for re-election — Vince Hernandez — City Clerk Lisa Blackmon has extended the filing deadline that had closed Friday at 5 p.m. to this Wednesday at 5 p.m. as required by state law.
Two residents that have taken out papers — Gregory Pitsch and Marcus Dvaneport — but who did not file by Friday’s deadline have until Wednesday to do so. That also goes for any other city resident that wants to pick up nomination papers and collect 20 valid signatures of registered voters that live within the Manteca city limits and return it by the Wednesday deadline.
This election will mark the first time the majority of the five-member Manteca Planning Commission is running for election to the City Council at the same time. They are Eric Hayes, Gary Singh, and Jeff Zellner. If two of the three are elected it would mean four-fifths of the council when December rolls around will have served on the Planning Commission prior to election to the council. Current council members Mike Morowit and Richard Silverman elected in 2014 were previously on the planning commission.
The trio aren’t the only candidates with ties to the city’s planning. Cantu, who retired a few years back after 28 years on the Community Development Department staff, is also seeking election to the council.
Moorhead is seeking her third four-year term.
Hernandez is stepping down after 16 years on the council.
 Nomination papers are at the City Clerk’s office at the Civic Center, 1001 W. Center St.

To contact Dennis Wyatt, email dwyatt@mant