By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Manteca Rotary marking golden anniversary
Members of the Manteca Rotary Club preparing to celebrate 50 years of service are, from left, Tom Wilson, Larry Banks, Mark Oliver, Lindsay Munoz, Jo Dean Hart, Shawn Nussbaumer, Leon Sucht, and Bill Whiteside. - photo by HIME ROMERO


• WHAT: Manteca Rotary Club 50th anniversary
• WHEN: Thursday, March 12, from 6 to 9 p.m.
• WHERE: Emory Hall, 1028 W. Yosemite Ave.
• COST: $35
• MORE INFO: Call Mark Oliver at 823-7151

Manteca Rotary Club is celebrating 50 years of service.

The service club over the years has left its mark on Manteca with civic improvements, scholarships, and support of non-profits to helping eradicate polio and seven other diseases worldwide.

The club is marking its golden anniversary on Thursday, March 12, with a dinner at The Emory.  The keynote speaker is Past Rotary International President Cliff Dochterman. His topic is, “We’ve had a lot of lunches over the past 50 years.”

The social hour is from 6 to 7 p.m. with the dinner and the program from 7 to 9 p.m. The cost is $35 in advance. For reservations, contact Mark Oliver at 823-7151.

The organization’s most high profile project might just be the Rotary Centennial Mural that graces the southern facing wall at the Maple Avenue Plaza across from the post office. It depicts Rotary International’s worldwide humanitarian contributions to providing safe drinking water and helping en power Third World poor by helping to teach them to read to the effort to eradicate polio and several other diseases worldwide. Since starting Polio Plus in 1985, Rotarians worldwide have contributed $600 million plus tens of thousands of man hours.  The wild polio virus cases were at 400,000 in 1980. By 2007, the number of new reported cases had dropped to 1,315.

Manteca Rotary – like all of the 32,000 plus clubs worldwide with 1.2 million members – commits financial resources to the PolioPlus effort.

The Manteca Rotary Club has provided over $600,000 in humanitarian aid to Honduras with the help of the Rotary Foundation and club volunteers. That includes dental brigades, eyeglass brigades, computers, medicines, library books for schools and public libraries, medical equipment, housing relief for 30 families, and clean water projects.

The club so far has presented over $300,000 in scholarships to graduates at Manteca, East Union, Sierra, and Calla high schools and Manteca  Adult School.

Contributions Manteca Rotary has made to Manteca over the years include honoring  law enforcement officers of the year, honoring  students of the month, donated furniture and books to Manteca Library, planted trees along the Tidewater bike path, provided the flag poles at City Hall, paid for an amphitheatre at City Hall, built a rest area at the Manteca Museum, installed lights at the Manteca High tennis courts, provided play equipment for Shasta Park, for years conducted a football banquet for East Union High, annual support of Boys and Girls Club, annual support for Manteca CAPS, support for the Second Harvest Food Bank, sponsored the charter of Ripon Rotary  in 1979, sponsored the charter of Manteca Morning Rotary in 1986, paid for the Centennial Rotary Plaza/Mural in downtown Manteca, and developed Rotary baseball diamond at Lincoln Park.

Lindsay Munoz is the current Manteca Rotary president.

Lucas Hat was the first club president serving from 1959 to 1960.

The other presidents and their years of service were Al Roecks, 1960-61;  John Guthmiller, 1961-62; Hollon Stamps, 1962-63; Ralph Lambdin, 1963-64; Earl Wendorff, 1964-65; Harry Taylor, 1965-66; Art Grace, 1966-67;  Joe Munoz, 1967-68; Ralph Gardner, 1968-69; Jack Lathrop, 1969-70; Ray Dowell, 1970-71; Cliff Parr, 1971-72; Kent Miller, 1972-73; Bill Perry, 1973-74; Stew Anderson, 1974-75; Howard Shideler, 1975-76; Arie Groenveld, 1976-77; Paul Wiemers, 1977-78; Mark Oliver, 1978-79; Don Asher, 1979-80; Norm Knodt, 1980-81;  Bill Goodwin, 1981-82; Burt Gibbons, 1983-84; Mike Farrar, 1984-85;  Fred Stellhorn, 1985-86; John Brinton, 1986-87; Don Battles, 1988-89; Ralph Hoyt, 1989-90;  Sy Stonum 1990-91; Ben Magnante, 1991-92; Dan Schultes, 1992-93;  Al Nunes, 1993-94; Mark Oliver – Arie Groenveld – Al Nunes, 1994-95; Trena Chaves 1995-96; Glenn Kahl, 1996-97; Harold Hughes, 1997-98; Ricardo Cuevas, 1998-99; Robert Rodarte, 1999-2000; Bill Whiteside, 2000-01; Emmanuel Serriere, 2001-02;  Rick Whole, 2002-03; Dave Parker, 2003-04; Norm Knodt, 2004-05; Jeff Liotard, 2005-06; Tom Wilson, 2006-07; and Howard Holtzman, 2007-08.