By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Ripon Christian Highs 50 grads earn 70 scholarships
Placeholder Image

The 50-member Ripon Christian High School Class of 2017 earned 70 scholarships.
It was the 72nd Commencement on May 26 for the school that boasts of having vast majority of graduates go on to college.  
Chris Van Groningen welcomed the parents and friends to the graduation. Pastor Cesar Buitrago led the invocation and devotions as the entire assembly sang “How Great Thou Art.”
Valedictorian Katherine O’Leary spoke for the Class of 2017. The presentation of the class was by Eric Segaar who serves as high school principal and superintendent of Ripon Christian Schools.
The awarding of the diplomas and Bibles was the honor of Ripon Christian board members Ian Koetsier, Claire Osborn, Chris Van Groningen and Amy Weststeyn followed by the Class Song, “Great is Thy Faithfulness.”
Salutatorian Tess Chang added a farewell and a closing prayer near the conclusion of the ceremonies.
The students are their scholarships included:
GABRIELLE BECKMAN: Ripon Quarterback Club Scholarship, Cabrillo Civic Club Scholarship, Concordia University, Irvine Provost Scholarship, Lutheran Student Scholarship, Concordia University Irvine Theater Scholarship, Ripon Rotary Scholarship.
TY BEIDLEMAN: Rocky Mountain Scholarship, Mountain West Scholarship.
JACOB BEUKELMAN: Dordt College Athletic Scholarship, Dort College Academic Scholarship.
HILARY BOWMAN: Pacific Scholarship, UOP President’s Scholarship.
SAMANTHA BRIGGS: Donker Memorial Scholarship, Farmington Fire Department Scholarship.
ABIGAIL BUITRAGO:  CSU East Bay Athletic Scholarship.
TESS CHANG: Bugbee Memorial Scholarship, Eichoff Memorial Scholarship, DAR Good Citizen’s Scholarship, Purdue University Trustee’s Scholarship.
ZACHARY CORTRIGHT: Greenville College Academic Scholarship.
CARLY EASTHAM: Kenneth J. Van Spronsen Memorial Scholarship, Calvin College Dean’s Scholarship, Legacy Scholarship, Institutional Scholarship, Blake Van Duyn Memorial Scholarship.
LAUREN HENDERSON: LSU Tiger Private Scholarship.
CARA HOEKSTRA: Hilmar Cheese Scholarship, Ripon Police Youth Advisory Committee Scholarship, Bugbee Memorial Scholarship, RC FFA Growing Leaders Scholarship, Baylor University Provost Gold Scholarship, LFA Debate Scholarship.
HANNABETH MAGNUSSEN: Calvin College Provost Scholarship, Kenneth J. Van Spronsen Memorial Scholarship.
RYAN MAILHOT: LeTourneau University Founder’s Scholarship, Kenneth J. Van Spronsen Memorial Scholarship.
ZACHARY MENSONIDES:  Ripon Quarterback Club Scholarship, Ripon Grange Scholarship, Montana State Achievement Scholarship, Blake Van Dun Memorial Scholarship.
MCKENNA MORET:  USD Memorial Scholarship, USD Academic Scholarship, American Legion Scholarship, NORCAL US Army Warrant Officers’ Association Scholarship, LFA Debate Scholarship.
DEREK NELSON: Gordon College Founder’s Scholarship.
KATHERINE O’LEARY: Brown University Academic Scholarship, A. Dale lackey Scholarship.
KAHLEE SCHOLTEN: Bugbee Memorial Scholarship, Eichoff Memorial Scholarship, National Defense Transportation Scholarship, Lamba Theta Phi Scholarship, Biola University Provost Scholarship.
SARAH TANNER:  PUC Presidential Scholarship, PUC Legacy Scholarship, PUC Honors Program Scholarship, Auction Scholarship.
BOWEN TERRA: Grand Canyon University CCSC Scholarship, Grand Canyon University Academic Scholarship, Cabrillo Civic Club Scholarship.
BRIAN THOMAS: Le Tourneau University Dean’s Scholarship.
LYNDSEY VAN GRONINGEN: Ripon Lions’ Club Scholarship, Biola University Eagle’s Academic Scholarship.
LOGAN VAN VUREN:  American Legion Scholarship, Ripon Lions’ Club Scholarship, Seattle Pacific University Trustees’ Scholarship, A. Dale Lackey Scholarship, Ripon Rotary Scholarship.

To contact Glenn Kahl, email