By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Emergency vehicle parade rolls thru Ripon
Ripon-police-cars-DSC 6784-LT
Ripon officer Steve Meece chats with former police chief Red Nutt next to a partially restored police car from the mid-60s that was recently donated to the Ripon department. An old Ripon Police Department logo can be seen on the drivers door. - photo by GLENN KAHL

Some 124 emergency vehicles with red lights flashing and sirens blaring made their way through Ripon Saturday.

It was part of the 23rd Annual Emergency Vehicle show put on by the Menlo Park and Ripon police departments that took place at the Ripon Community Center on Fourth Street.

Best of Show went to Daniel Shoun with his 1947 International armored truck from Brinks.

The Police Chiefs’ Awards were handed out  first by Ripon Chief Ed Ormonde to Todd Shulman for his 1957 Ford 300 from the Napa Police Department.  Robert Jonsen, chief of the Menlo Park department singled out Mike Del Puppo with his 1936 Dodge sedan that had been a marshal’s patrol car from the Shasta County Sheriff’s Department.  

Ripon Fire Chief Dennis Bitters gave his top honors to James Fisher with a 1972 Cadillac ambulance.  The first place in the Peoples’ Choice awards went to Eric Dias for his 2013 Ford Interceptor Utility from the Citrus Heights Police Department.  

In the Best Restored Vehicle category Dennis Larson took first place with his restored 1964 Dodge 880 from the California Highway Patrol’s fleet.  Second place in restored vehicles from 1900 to 1974 went to Ron Hurwitz with his 1969 Dodge Polara – also a former CHP unit on the streets of California.  A third place plaque went to Jerry Boyle owner of a 1973 Dodge Coronet that had been used by the highway patrol.  

In the Best Restored Police Vehicle from 1975 to 1997 Mike Terry took first with his 1988 Dodge Diplomat – also a former highway patrol vehicle.  Second place went to John Carr of San Jose Police Department with his 1988 Dodge Diplomat.  Third place was also a Dodge Diplomat owned by Ralph Lux.  It had been an FBI vehicle when it was in service on the street.

In the Best Novelty Police Vehicle class between 1900 and 1964 first place went to Todd Shulman with a 1957 Ford 300 from the Napa Police Department.  Second place honors went to Frank and Lou Furtaw with a 1962 Dodge Dart from the Tulare Police Department.  Third place went to Mary Ann Dahl with her 1946 Pontiac Streamliner from the San Joaquin County Sheriff’s Department.

The Best Novelty Vehicle from 1965 to 1997 went to Don Malloy with a 1979 Dodge St. Regis, from the T.J. Hooker TV show.  Second was Joe Jameson with a 1965 Ford Custom 500 entered by the Stockton Police Department.

CHP Officer James Smith took the honors of having the best California Highway Patrol Vehicle with a 2013 Ford Interceptor Utility vehicle.  The Best Nevada Highway Patrol Vehicle went to Mike Stapelton with his 2008 GMC Sierra.

The Best Restored Special Service Pursuit Package Vehicle, Mustang and Camaro went to John Shoffner with his 1992 Ford Mustang used by the CHP.  Two other CHP Mustangs took second and third places – a 1988 owned by Mike Catalano and a 1984 belonging to Gary Martinet.  

In the Best Public Relations Vehicle, Volunteer Explorer or Cadet Vehicle saw the first place go to K.D. Stone with his 1991 Ford 350 Ambulance for America’s Forgotten Heroes.  Second place was taken by Berry Blath and his 1946 paddy wagon from the Stockton Police Department.

The Best Specialty Emergency Vehicle honors went first to Eric Diaz from the Citrus Heights Police Department for his 2009 Navistar Maxxpro MRAP.  Second went to Chris Faith of the Walnut Creek Police Department with a 2008 Ford F550 bomb truck.  Third want to James Ratcliff of the Danville Police Department for a 2008 Ford Mustang.

The Best Police Motorcycle from the years 1900 to 1995 was presented to Dale Poppleton with a 1967 Harley-Davidson that had been use by the CHP.  First place from the years 1996 to 2014 went to Robert Banks with his 2011 Kawasaki from the Patterson Police Department. Second place went to Sgt. Kami Ysit of Ripon and the Tracy Police Department for her 2012 Harley-Davidson.

Best Fire Vehicle  Honors went first to Mike McDonald with his 1970 Crown Fire Truck from Nevada.  Taking second was a 1919 Ford TT Fire Truck from the Columbia Fire Protection District.

A 1945 Willys Military Jeep that was used in the U.S. Military took first place in the best military medical ambulance.  It was followed by 1972 and 1975 Cadillac ambulances.  The Best Daily Driver honors went to Pete Rocha with a 1993 Ford Mustang and Eric Kurz with a 1996 Chevrolet Caprice.

Stockton CHP Captain Robert Patrick presented the California Highway Patrol Commissioner’s Award to George Caravas with his restored 1961 Dodge Polara once used by CHP traffic officers.  The Nevada Highway Patrol’s Chief’s Award went to Frank and Lou Furtaw with their 1962 Dodge Dart from the Tulare Police Department.