By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Task force of 30 examining needs of Ripon schools
Placeholder Image

Thirty people representing a cross section of the community will spearhead Ripon Unified’s Facilities Master Plan Steering Committee.

“They’re from all walks of life, from student to school administrator, parents, teachers, police and firefighters,” Superintendent Bill Draa said at Monday’s school board meeting in Ripon Council Chambers.

He was authorized by the board to create a task force to look at short-term and long-term facilities needs of the school district. The particular interest here was to focus on some of the immediate needs from now through the next five years, and the facilities need in the next 10 years and beyond, Draa said.

Trustees voted 5-0 on his recommendations for the steering committee.

Included were Dennis Bitters (local government), Jim Bridges (at-large community), Jen Brogan (community organization), Margaret Caldwell (parent), Julie Chapin (school related organization), Carla Escola (school related organization), Lisa Fereria (school administrator), Heidi Hawes (K-8 teacher), Vince Hobbs (community organizer), Karina Ilardi (community organization), Bret Lamsma (parent), Jonnie Lan (community organization), Anne Lyons (school related organization), Trevor McGinnis (local government), Randy Mohler (parent), Blake Morrow (student), Lance Morrow (school administrator), Mona Ogden (school administrator), Ryan Patterson (high school teacher), Ann Pendleton (parent), Everett Perry (high school teacher), Dave Phippen (ag advisory), Marissa Regalo (student), Kate Sausedo (parent), David Starck (at-large community), Jennie Thomson (K-8 teacher), Carron Van Laar (at-large community), Wes Van Vuren (K-8 teacher), and Kathy Woodson (K-8 teacher).

The committee is scheduled to conduct its first-ever meeting on Oct. 23 in the Council Chamber.