By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Take your seat: Uecker, Restuccia votes confirmed
Placeholder Image

The Nov. 4 general election was recently certified by the Registrar of Voters of San Joaquin County.

 This makes it official for incumbent Dean Uecker and Mike Restuccia, who were elected to the Ripon City Council.

Council members, at Tuesday’s meeting, are scheduled to sign off on the certification which has Uecker as the top vote-getter with 2,513 or 42 percent for another four years.

Restuccia is back on the council after taking off the past four years. The investment banker managed 2,234 or 37.3 percent of the votes.

Educator Shane Smith, who withdrew from the race prior to the election, still collected 1,171 votes.

In addition, 63 unqualified write-in voters were reported.

Council will have a different look without Mayor Chuck Winn and Vice Mayor Elden “Red” Nutt.

Winn won in his election bid to the San Joaquin County Board of Supervisors.

Nutt’s sudden passing on Nov. 21 came as a shock.

Leo Zuber, who is tabbed to take over as mayor – the positions of mayor and vice mayor are conducted on a council-rotation basis – is scheduled to lead in a discussion regarding the Standing Committees.

He served as the alternate voting member for the Local Agency Formation Commission-San Joaquin County or LAFCO in place of Nutt.

Council, along with LAFCO, will look to fill the vacancies left by Winn and Nutt.

Winn was representatives for the Central Valley Division of Leagues of California City Executives, SJC Integrated Solid Waste Management, San Joaquin Partnership, City / County Criminal Justice Task Force, Advisory Water Commission-SJC Board of Supervisors, Legislative Response Committee, and Farmers Market Task Force.   

On the two-by-two committees, Winn was on the Chamber of Commerce, Ripon Christian Schools, and the City of Manteca while Nutt served on the Ripon Consolidated Fire District.

For more information, call Ripon City Hall at 209.599.2108 or log on to