By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Baciocco recognized as TVLs top hitter
BB--All-TVL  SL selections file pic
Ripon junior Angelo Baciocco watches his bloop fly ball drop for a base hit in a Trans-Valley League game against Hughson. - photo by JONAMAR JACINTO/ Bulletin file photo

Nine players from the Ripon and Ripon Christian baseball teams earned all-league honors, with Indians junior Angelo Baciocco getting the nod for the Most Valuable Offensive Player in the Trans-Valley League.

Baciocco mainly served as a designated hitter for Ripon (9-6 TVL, 16-12 overall) and often came up with clutch hits from the cleanup spot. He feasted on Riverbank, going 10-for-11 with seven RBIs and eight runs. Overall for the season he led the Indians with a .402 batting average. His 28 RBIs, 23 runs and four triples are also team-highs.

Third-year junior third baseman Nick Price (.394, 27 RBIs), senior pitcher Brandon Scott (5-3, 2.52 ERA, 65 strikeouts) and middle infielders Jarrod Andrews (.370, seven doubles, 27 runs, 13 steals) and Luke Robison (.356) were named to the all-TVL team. Right fielder/pitcher Trent Murphy and outfielder Sammy Souza earned honorable mention.

TVL champion Hughson (14-1, 19-4) racked up most of the top honors. Infielder/pitcher Kyle Cockrell (.407, 30 runs, 16 steals; 1.87 ERA, three saves) was voted MVP, catcher Lane Cobb is the Most Valuable Defensive Player, Grant Williams (8-0, 2.03, 56 strikeouts) is Pitcher of the Year and Mike Bava earned Coach of the Year.

Ripon Christian (11-3 league, 18-5 overall) is well represented on the all-Southern League team after a runner-up finish. Senior second baseman/pitcher Danny Vander Molen (.333, 17 RBIs; 1.38 ERA, 58 strikeouts leads four Knights on the list. He is joined by senior pitcher Billy Marr (0.74, 35 strikeouts), junior outfielder/pitcher Connor McGovern (.348, 17 runs; 1.83 ERA, 50 strikeouts) and freshman catcher Willem Hoekstra (.380, 22 RBIs).

First-place Mariposa (14-0, 20-6) swept the major awards. The MVP honor went to infielder/pitcher Noah Fluharty (.358, 23 RBIs; 10-0, 0.44 ERA, 112 strikeouts). Tristen Mero (.524, 30 runs) is the Best Offensive Player, Aaron Lerma (7-0, 0.48, 46 strikeouts is the Most Valuable Pitcher and Justin Kleinsmith is Coach of the Year.