By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
BOYS BASKETBALL: Ripon Christian fends off Bear Creek in Oakdale Rotary semifinal
Bulletin sports logo

Griffin De Abreu and Eli Terpsma took turns taking over for Ripon Christian on Wednesday, and the Knights held on to beat Bear Creek 52-50 in the semifinal round of the 50th annual Oakdale Rotary Classic.

The Bruins (7-6) of Stockton gave the tournament’s defending champion reason for worry in the final minute, cutting what was a nine-point deficit with 1:14 remaining.

De Abreu finished with 20 points to lead Ripon Christian, tallying 17 of them in the first half. The Knights led 29-22 at halftime. Terpsma took it from there, and he scored 17 of his 19 points over the final two quarters. He hit three 3s in the fourth quarter, and those were the only field goals for RC down the stretch. De Abreu and Terpsma buried four 3s apiece.

Derek Van Elderen contributed with 10 points. Bear Creek was paced by Arman Singh’s 16 points. Ripon Christian vies for the title tonight against Downey or Oakdale starting at 8.


Kimball 70, Lathrop 61

Camryn Jones spearheaded four Spartans players in double figures with 16 points along with four 3s, but it wasn’t enough to keep up with the visiting Jaguars (10-4) from Tracy.

Kimball was led by Isaiah Baptista’s 20 points, and Chinedu Nwankwo had 16. Other top scoring contributors for Lathrop (3-6) included Samuel Stewart with 15 points, Kameron Jones with 11 and Anthony McKinnon with 11.

The Spartans have one final tune-up against Franklin next Monday at home before tipping off the Western Athletic Conference schedule Wednesday at Ceres.


Junior varsity

Manteca 45, Lincoln 42

The Buffaloes claimed the 44th Block M Tournament title on Wednesday and were led by MVP Peyton Nieman’s 13 points.

All-tourney selection Micah Crawford contributed 12 points and 13 rebounds. Bryson Davis had 11 points and eight boards.

Also making the all-tournament team: Adam Perez (Bear Creek), Caleb Villalobos (Chavez), Japier Jamison (Tracy) and Christian Zamora (Lincoln).



Lincoln 51, Manteca 44

After trailing 7-4 in a low-scoring opening quarter, the Trojans of Stockton got untracked to upend the Block M Tournament host in the championship round.

Manteca was led by Eddie Anthony’s 15 points and seven rebounds. He was named to the all-tournament team. Ruben Moreno chipped in with 11 points, Jayden Scarver tallied nine and Johan Peringelil collected six points and 12 rebounds.

Others making all-tournament: MVP Anthony Gonzales (Lincoln), Quincy Mahan (Lincoln), Collins Schluer (Sierra), Brett Shaw (Ripon) and Jaylen Jackson (Tracy).