By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Ripon Chiefs blast Raiders for victory
0915CHIEF bottom
Ripons Nethanial Stum pressures Kahlil Thorne of the Riverbank Raiders on Saturday in a 40-6 varsity win for the host Chiefs. - photo by DAVE CAMPBELL/ The Bulletin

Niko Ilardi threw for four touchdowns and ran for two to lead the Ripon Chiefs to a 40-6 Mountain Valley Football League victory over the Riverbank Raiders at Stouffer Field on Saturday.

 lardi was 8 for 13 passing for 135 yards. Matthew Padilla caught (three receptions, 53 yards) had 20-and 26-yard touchdown receptions. Dorian Dougherty (two receptions, 51yards) had a 38-yard touchdown catch Aiden Benzinger (two receptions, 21 yards) had a 10-yard touchdown catch 

 Ilardi led the rushing attack with 75 yards on three carries with touchdown runs of 10 and 50 yards. Benzinger had two carries for 43 yards, Brandon Rainer two carries for 42 yards, Grant Wiebe two carries for 31 yards on two carries and Danny Hernandez three carries for 20 yards.

 The Ripon defense smothered the Raiders all day and made big plays by forcing four turnovers that included a safety by Dougherty, a fumble recovery by Aaron Stevenson, and interceptions from both Benzinger and Hernandez. The Chiefs tallied three sacks and five tackles for loss.

Leobardo Ochoa and Caleb Delgado had five tackles each, Brandon Rainer and Stevenson four apiece, Wiebe three with Hernandez, Adrian Reyes, Boogie Barnett, Troy Brogan, and Isaac Clark all making two tackles each.


Jr. Novice

Ripon Chiefs, Riverbank Raiders

Dru Orlando scored on the first play of the game for the Chiefs on a 65-yard run for the first of eight Chiefs touchdowns.

Orlando connected with Jesus Ochoa for a22¬-yard touchdown pass. Ryan Hater and Orlando both had 22 yard touchdown runs for Ripon, Ethan Baur scored on a 5-yard run, Austin Barros on a 44-yard run, Steven Dillman on a 25-yard run and Seth Spetter from 1-yard out. The offensive line of George Guerreo, Carter Davis, Mateo Elisary, Omar Alsaidi, and Jehren Arriola controlled the line of scrimmage.

 Jacob Moorehead, Julian Deweerd, Andy Watson, Ethan Bowdan, and Will Jakobsen led the Chiefs stingy defense which did not allow a first down.