By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Chicagos Patrick Kane wins the Hart Trophy
Placeholder Image

LAS VEGAS (AP) — Patrick Kane won the Hart Trophy on Wednesday night, becoming the first player born and trained in the U.S. to be named the NHL’s most valuable player.

The Chicago Blackhawks’ NHL scoring champion received three trophies at the league’s annual postseason awards show from the Hard Rock Hotel and Casino. He won the Ted Lindsay Award after his fellow players recognized him as the game’s most outstanding player, and he also accepted the Art Ross Trophy in recognition of his 106-point season.

Kane was the runaway winner of the Hart, getting 121 of the 150 first-place votes. Sidney Crosby finished second with 11 first-place votes, while Dallas’ Jamie Benn was third.

Braden Holtby of Washington finished fourth, but won the Vezina Trophy as the NHL’s top goalie. His coach, Barry Trotz, won the Jack Adams Award for the first time in 17 seasons behind an NHL bench. recognizing the Capitals’ impressive Presidents’ Trophy season.

Los Angeles Kings captain Anze Kopitar took home the Selke Trophy as the NHL’s best defensive forward and the Lady Byng Trophy for his gentlemanly play.

Kopitar’s teammate, Drew Doughty, won his first Norris Trophy as the NHL’s top defenseman, beating out Ottawa’s Erik Karlsson and San Jose’s Brent Burns.

Chicago forward Artemi Panarin won the Calder Trophy as the NHL’s top rookie. The 24-year-old Russian beat out No. 1 draft pick Connor McDavid of Edmonton, whose debut was shortened by a broken collarbone.

Jaromir Jagr, the Florida Panthers’ 44-year-old leading scorer, was awarded the Bill Masterton Trophy for perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey.