By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Day and Tringale shoot 55 to take Shootout lead
Placeholder Image

NAPLES, Fla. (AP) — Jason Day and Cameron Tringale shot a 17-under 55 on Thursday in the first-round scramble to take a two-stroke lead in the Franklin Templeton Shootout.

Day and Tringale tied the tournament scramble record last accomplished by tournament host Greg Norman and Steve Elkington in 2005.

Defending champions Matt Kuchar and Harris English opened with a 57 at The Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort, and the teams of Keegan Bradley-Camilo Villegas, Graeme McDowell-Gary Woodland and Ryan Palmer-Jimmy Walker shot 59.

All 12 teams were 11 under or better. The teams will play a modified alternate shot Friday and close with a better-ball round Saturday.

Day and Tringale eagled Nos. 13 and 14. Kuchar and English birdied 14 of their last 15 holes.


CHONBURI, Thailand (AP) — Australia’s Marcus Fraser chipped in for birdie on the 18th hole for a 3-under 69 and a share of the first-round lead in the Thailand Golf Championship.

Local player Thanyakorn Khrongpha, Canada’s Richard Lee and Taiwan’s Lu Wei-chih also shot 69.

England’s Lee Westwood had a 70, defending champion Sergio Garcia of Spain was another stroke back along with Germany’s Martin Kaymer, and Masters champion Bubba Watson had a 76.


GOLD COAST, Australia (AP) — South Korean’s Jin Jeong birdied three of six holes in the completion of the suspended first round for a 7-under 65 and a one-stroke lead in the Australian PGA.

Jeong was one of the players forced to complete the round Friday after play was delayed Thursday because of lightning. American Boo Weekley opened with a 66, and defending champion Adam Scott had a 68.


MALELANE, South Africa (AP) — South Africa’s Branden Grace shot a 10-under 62 at Leopard Creek to take a three-stroke lead in the Alfred Dunhill Championship.

South Africa’s Jake Roos was second at 65. Two-time defending champion Charl Schwartzel opened with a 68. He also won in 2005.