By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Weston Ranch High graduates 270 as part of Class of 2018
Weston Ranch High graduates 270 as part of Class of 2018
Members of the Class of 2018 share a moment together during graduation. - photo by VINCE REMBUILAT/ The Bulletin

Autumn Pickney and Angela Ton shared feelings of excitement and nervousness prior to Thursday night’s graduation ceremony at Weston Ranch High.

They were among the 270 seniors who received their diplomas that day. The two best of friends, like many in the Class of 2018, will put their memories of the past few years behind as they jet off to college.

Ton, who is the class salutatorian, won’t be too far away. She’s staying local, attending the University of the Pacific to study Pharmacy.

Pickney won’t be too far away. She’s going to Stanislaus State for Computer Science.

During the special event held at WRHS stadium, Ton acknowledged those who helped form that foundation to “take to the real world,” she said.

Ton, Pickney and valedictorian Eyiwunmi Laseinde were also among those receiving the California Scholastic Federation honors.

All told, 28 members of the graduating class earned CSF honors, as announced by advisor Stayce Baptista.

Also included were Hanan Ahmed Abdelwahed, Lauren Alfaro, Jesus Avalos, Jella Batac, Kevin Boateng, Ariyana Cavanaugh, Laray Dacus, Sanmeet Dhillon, Timothy Duong, Ed Fontanilla, Alelih Galvadores, Anuprit Gill, Abby Gov, Sydny Grant, Jianna-Mae Ico, Jason Jabil, Jesmeen Kaur, Crystal Lam, Jocelyn Laminero, Lily Ortiz, Thrisha Reddy, Supreet Sandhu, Jennifer Watan, Zsanika Yodong, and Jose Zetino Chapman.

Principal Francine Baird greeted the many family members, friends, and special guests in attendance at the 13th annual commencement exercises.

She also certified that those in the Class of 2018 had fulfilled the requirement necessary requirement – Manteca Unified Trustee Eric Duncan had the honors of Acceptance of the Graduates.

He along with district officials Clark Burke (Deputy Superintendent), Clara Schmiedt (Senior Director of Second Education), ant Trustee Michael Seelye shared the duties of awarding of the diplomas.

The graduation program, in addition, consisted of:

uThe WRHS Band under the direction of Joe Barron performed the processional ‘Pomp and Circumstance.’

uASB President Nayeli Moreno leading in the Pledge of Allegiance and classmates Jella Batac and Alelih Galvadores performing the Star Spangled Banner.

uJianna-Mae Ico also provided the senior class speech.

uScience teacher Tamara Basepayne did the Be Vital acknowledgement.