By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Sienna Jones, Devin Fitzpatrick earn SJS Lacky Awards
Lacky Awards
Sienna Jones leads the counterattack for Manteca during its Kicking for a Cure game with Lathrop. - photo by Wayne Thallander

 Manteca senior Sienna Jones was among the top winners for the annual A. Dale Lacky Scholar-Athlete Award, the Sac-Joaquin Section announced on Monday.

AOW Devin Fitzpatrick
Devin Fitzpatrick of Ripon was also acknowledged.

Los Banos’ Larry Borelli (cross country, golf, wrestling) and Bret Harte’s Sophia Bouma (basketball, volleyball, track and field) each earned the Clarke Coover Memorial Award, the highest honor worth $1,500.

Jones was one of just eight student-athletes to receive the $1,000 scholarship. The rest of the nominees, including Fitzpatrick, get $500 apiece.

All winners will be recognized at the annual SJS Breakfast Awards Ceremony on April 30 at Hutchins Street Square in Lodi.

The Lacky Awards celebrates student-athletes who excel in athletics, academics and community service. Funds for the scholarships are raised through Peter J. Saco Foundation Games, non-league volleyball and basketball contests that do not count against records. The Section is divvying out $28,000 of scholarships this year.

Jones is a two-time All-Valley Oak League girls soccer player for Manteca and a state qualifier in cross country. She also holds two school records (800, mile) in track and field. Jones also holds a 4.17 GPA, won the school’s Honor the Code Award and volunteers for Kicking for a Cure. She aspires to become a physical therapist.

Fitzpatrick is enjoying a successful senior year as Ripon’s top distance runner. He qualified for the state meet in cross country this past fall and set a school record. He’s also a two-time qualifier for the SJS Masters Track and Field Championships and an SJS Division V champion. A 4.32 student, Fitzpatrick is an AP scholar and a Big Future African American Recognition Award winner. He’s involved in student government, the Multicultural Acceptance Club, Sober Grad and Link Crew. He plans to continue his track career in college while majoring in economics.