By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Denham, McNerney win re-election
Placeholder Image

Jeff Denham won re-election Tuesday to serve Stanislaus County as well as Manteca, Ripon, and Escalon in Congress by defeating Democratic challenger Michael Eggman.

Denham was tapped early as a rising star in the Republican Party and granted a key subcommittee chairmanship that carried with it the oversight of the nation’s public buildings and the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

But it was his willingness to take steps away from the party line when necessary and stick to the ideals that first got him elected that helped the Turlock rancher secure another term in the House of Representatives.

Only this time he’ll have the benefit of a Republican-controlled Senate. 

“I want to thank the dedicated volunteers who helped spread our message and get people out to vote. The people of the 10th district tonight sent a strong message about the kind of local representative they’re seeking to work on their behalf in Congress,” Denham said in a victory statement from his campaign office in Modesto. “I will continue to fight for our shared priorities and the issues my campaign was built on – like crafting long-term water solutions, creating jobs, fighting for our veterans and protecting our seniors. It’s an honor to serve the Valley.”

According to the results that were posted to the California Secretary of State’s website, Denham attained more than 56 percent of the vote to Eggman’s 43 percent. Just under 10,000 votes separated the two out of nearly 85,000 ballots cast. 

• • •

McNerney Wins Again

Jerry McNerney, who represents a district that includes Lathrop plus encompasses portions of Contra Costa, San Joaquin, and Sacramento counties, narrowly beat retired U.S. Marshal Tony Amador Tuesday night to earn his fifth straight term in the House. 

With more than 90 percent of the district wide vote count, McNerney held a 51 to 48 lead over Amador – a lead of just over 2,000 votes.