By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Manteca artist is big winner in Lathrops Mayor Art Show & Sale
Placeholder Image
LATHROP – Manteca artist Dan Voller was the big winner in this year’s Mayor’s Art Purchase Award Show and Sale.

Not only did he win Best of Show; his “Vinum Somnium (Wine Dream)” painting also was picked first place in the oils category by this year’s judge, Deanna Hunt. And while it was not selected by the mayor for the Mayor’s Purchase Award, Voller’s work will still be part of the city’s permanent art collection to hang in the Joyce Gatto Gallery at City Hall. The art committee, chaired by Joyce Gatto herself, purchased “Vinum Somnium” and will donate the art piece to the city to be part of the gallery collection.

Voller and all the artists who took part in this year’s show and sale were honored at the artist’s reception and awards presentation traditionally held at the conclusion of the two-week period when the public can view the entire collection of entries at City Hall. The event was held Friday in the Council Chambers.

Another Manteca artist who ran away with one of the coveted top prizes was Manteca Artists Guild member Dolly Sellars whose “Many Memories Tree” won first place in the acrylics category.

She also won third place in pastels for her entry titled “Bearded Man.” Other local artists who did equally well were Dawn Kopsho Best who won third place in oils for her “Gourds of Many Colors,” retired former Lathrop-Manteca Fire District chief and former Mantecan Jim Monty who now lives in Mariposa, and Lathrop-Manteca firefighter Michael Neuman whose picture, “Protect and Serve” won the judge’s nod for third place in the photography category.

The Students’ Choice Award went to Darrel Arlegue for his “Dyvinie’s Smile” entry.

The Mayor’s Art Purchase Award this year was a sculpture titled “Complex Sun” by Frank Cameron.

In addition to the seven main award categories, there were17 Sponsor’s Choice Awards presented to the winning artists at the reception Friday night.

Several recognition presentations were the other highlights of the evening. Receiving Long-standing Volunteer Awards were perennial art show volunteers Tony and Cindy martin and Ann Doyle. Special awards were also presented to longtime volunteers Monty and Sally Mendes.

Reprising her role as judge for the second year in a row was Deanna Hunt, an artist and art instructed at the University of the Pacific in Stockton.

The Art Show committee of volunteers is made up of chairperson Joyce Gatto who spearheaded the start of this annual event 18 years ago along with a small crew of volunteers, Tony and Cindy Martin, Randy Johnson, Ron Rhodes, Ann Doyle, Jim Monty, Tom Sayles, City Council member Chris Mateo, and Parks and Recreation staff.

Refreshments for the artists reception were sponsored by Lathrop Chamber of Commerce, the art committee, and Council member Sonny Dhaliwal.

Below is a complete list of the winners and their categories:

OILS (first place award sponsored by Joe’s Travel Plaza): Dan Voller, first place; Jesse D. Rasberry, second place; Dawn Kopsho Best, third place; Shirley Brocchini, Eliseo Contreas, Gary Wilson Kenson, Justin Blizzard and Jesse D. Rasberry, honorable mention.

ACRYLICS: (first place sponsored by Joe’s Travel Plaza): DollySellars, first place; Ed Cesena, second; Sharon Dambrosio, third.

PASTELS (first place award sponsored by Farm  World LLC): Eva Williams, first place; Una O’Farrell, second; Dolly Sellars, third; Caroline Henry, honorable mention.

MIXED MEDIA/MISCELLANEOUS (first place sponsored by Gloryanna and Ron Rhodes: first place, Janene Ford; second, Heidi Jones; third, Jayne Branscum, and Bob Blan, honorable mention.

SCULPTURES (first place sponsored by Swiss American Sausage): first place, John Lechner, second, Lino Giovacchini; third, Susan Tancreto; Michael Cammack and Louis Tancreto, honorablemention.

WATERCOLORS (first place was sponsored by Stephen and and Amanda Salvatore): first place, joanie Selman-Prince; second, Jean Ramey; third, Edwin Haas; Robert Hamernik and Christina Irvin, honorable mention.

PHOTOGRAPHY (first place sponsored by Lathrop Chicopractic): first place, Michael Randolph; second, James Monty; third, Michael Neuman; Fred Manding, Dorothy Magoffin, and Randy Johnson, honorable mention.

BEST OF SHOW: Vinum Somnium (Wine Dream) by Dan Voller.

SPONSOR’S CHOICE winners and their sponsors: Barbara Gill Salerno (Aunty’s Grooming), Eliseo Contreras (Chaka and Family), Carol Earle (Central  Valley Top Dog), Dawn Kopsho Best (Dell’Osso Farms), Fred Manding (Eagle’s Nest Harley Davidson), Jayne Branscum (Allied Waste Services), Jesse D. Rasberry (Delta A/C Supply), Claudette Bryant Garcia (Tom and Cathie Luckey), Jerrod Mays (Lum Development), Linda Houx (Sal and Brendaly Navarrete, Sharon Dambrosio (Tom Ruark & Associates), Edwin Haas (Cary Keaten), Miriam Avilla (Rotary Club of Lathrop), Claudette Bryant-Garcia (ITT Technical Institute), Gilbert L. Olivas (J.R. Simplot), Mary Sibert (River Islands), and Taylor Tuhy (Kristy Sayles).

STUDENT’S CHOICE AWARD: “Dyvinie’s Smile” by Darrel Arlegue.