By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Ripon Lions fete teachers
Club welcomes new teachers, honors others for service
Lions teachers DSC 9802
Ripon Lions hosted new teachers as well as long-time teachers. - photo by GLENN KAHL/The Bulletin

Ripon Lions Club members welcomed 30 new educators to the community schools including Ripon Unified, Ripon Christian Schools and the online Connections Academy.

Retired Ripon Unified School District Superintendent Leo Zuber acted as the emcee for the evening presenting longtime instructors with framed certificates for 15 to 40 years of service. The dinner took place during last week’s regular meeting at the American Legion hall.

RUSD had 23 new hires with eight joining Ripon Christian and three at the Connections Academy. Most attended the Lions dinner with their spouses.

The newly hired teachers were introduced by Ripon Unified School District Superintendent Ziggy Robson; Eric Segaar superintendent of Ripon Christian Schools and Amy Hunt, director of the online Connections Academy.

The Ripon Unified teachers are:

Ripon Elementary School: Shandi Ross. 7th grade.

Ripona Elementary School: Jessica Handley, transitional-kindergarten teacher; Lindsey Powers, kindergarten; Manon Roberts-Gowan, 6th grade and Kevin Smith.

Weston Elementary School: Rebecca Salinas-Marshall, 2nd grade; Inez Wanta, Education specialist.

Colony Oak Elementary School: Cheryl Griffiths, principal; Stephanie Bylsma, 1st grade; Tina Dirksen, education specialist; Breanna Lucchesi, educational specialist.

Park View Elementary School: Janelle Mulder, Education specialist; Melanie Perez, kindergarten.

 Ripon High School: Bernice de Witte, Education specialist/English; Gary Dias, Computer Science teacher; Laura Ochoa, English; Col. John Tao, JROTC; Megan Thompson, half-time counselor.

Harvest High School: Jason Yang, Math teacher; Melody Ho, Social Science.

New at the District Office: Dawna Paul, School Nurse; Alison Stingle, Mental Health Clinician.

Teachers receiving framed certificates for their years of service included:

15 years of service: James Holt, Jennifer Ferolito, Jamie De Brum, Christopher Masseman, and Wes Van Vuren.

20 years of service: Lois Jones, Shirley Stegenge, Pam Cole, Fidel Perez and Daniel Gilman.

25 years of service: Mark Hoekema.

30 years of service: Marianne Chakroverty, Jennie Thompson, Lisa Dahlin, Jodie Otten, Debra Newburg, Lisa Webb, Wayne Webb

35 years of service: Sylvia Mundt

40 years of service: Stephanie Pratt.