By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
MUSD Area One the only action in Nov. 6 election
Placeholder Image

Three members of the Manteca Unified Board of Trustees are ending their four-year terms at the end of the year.

Out of those three representatives, only one has three contenders vying for the outgoing incumbent’s soon-to-be vacant seat. No one was interested in going after the seats of the other two trustees, so the incumbents will be automatically sworn in for another four years following their appointments.

The outgoing trustees are Rex Holiday representing Area One and the board’s clerk, Wendy King who represents Area Five, and Michael Seelye in Area Three.

Only one interested candidate, Debbie Romero, filed papers for King’s seat. Since she is unopposed, and King is not running for re-election, Romero will automatically take over as that area’s representative.

In the case of Seelye’s area, no one came forward to run for that office. And since Seelye submitted papers to seek another term of office but without any interested competitor, his name will not appear on the ballot and will be sworn in by appointment as well along with Romero.

Holiday’s Area One territory has attracted three candidates whose names will be in the November ballot. These three contenders are Alison Ordner, a homemaker and swim instructor; Sam Fant who is an educator; and, Sharla S. Moore who describes herself in her candidate’s papers as a homemaker/parent.

In an earlier interview, Holiday said he decided not to seek another four-year term to concentrate on finishing his doctorate studies.

The Manteca Unified School District is made up of seven trustees. The remaining four who have two more years left in their current terms are Evelyn Moore of Area Five and the president of the board; Manuel Medeiros of Area Two; Don Scholl who also represents Area Five and is the board’s vice president; and Nancy Teicheira who represents Area Four.

The general election will be held on November 6.