By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Lathrop linemen earn top recognition in WAC
Bulletin sports fall 2021
Lathrop defensive lineman Harold Gary and Noah Martinez chase Weston Ranch quarterback Namir Brown-Sanger out of the pocket. - photo by Wayne Thallander

First-year Lathrop football coach Ryan Teicheira wanted his linemen to be the bullies at the line of scrimmage, and it’s apparent they’ve bought in.

Two Spartans were among the major award winners in the Western Athletic Conference. Jeremy Buck and Harold Gary stood out among Lathrop fall sports athletes who made all-conference teams. The 6-foot-1, 295-pound Buck helped key his team’s transition to the Wing-T and was named Offensive Lineman of the Year. He also made the All-WAC first team on defense, finishing with 21 total tackles, 4 ½ for losses, two sacks and a forced fumble.

Gary, a third-year starter, was voted Defensive Player of the Year. The disruptive defensive end had the third most tackles for Lathrop with 48 but led the team with 10 tackles for losses, five sacks, five forced fumbles and a blocked point-after kick.

Outside linebacker Noah Martinez joins the tandem on the All-WAC first team. He was the Spartans’ leading tackler with 67, adding seven tackles for losses, three sacks, two forced fumbles and six passes defended.

Offensive lineman Chris Subia, inside linebacker Eddie Reynoso and defensive back J.R. Williams are second-team selections. Lathrop went 3-3 in the WAC and 5-4 overall in its inaugural season under Teicheira.

Other top award winners in the WAC are Los Banos’ Archutowski (MVP), Grace Davis’ Isaac Martinez (Offensive Player of the Year), Mountain House’s Matthew Andrade (Defensive Lineman of the Year), Grace Davis’ Jackson Brooks (Kicker of the Year) and Grace Davis’ Tim Garcia (Coach of the Year).

Lathrop’s runner-up girls volleyball team had two players land spots on the All-WAC first team — middle Sydney Hanks and outside hitter Krystle Sakay. The Spartans had six seniors earn all-conference honors overall. Libero Thracylie Acoba and middle blocker LaNicia Ellis made the second team, while opposite Hailey Grant and outside hitter Lylliana Avila earned honorable mention.

Abigail Bautista made all-conference for golf after leading the Lathrop to its first appearance as a team in the Sac-Joaquin Section Division IV Tournament. Godwina Ogbeide is Lathrop’s lone representative on the All-WAC girls tennis team.

In water polo, Connor Giovannoni received honorable mention for the boys team, while Hannah Stewart got the same recognition for the girls.