By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Olaya wins title, one of 38 area wrestlers on to divisional round
Placeholder Image

Weston Ranch junior Andrew Olaya was the only Manteca Unified School District wrestler to bring home a Valley Oak League championship during the VOL Tournament in Sonora on Saturday.

The Cougars’ 132-pounder was one of 25 wrestlers from the area to place top four and punch tickets to this Saturday’s Sac-Joaquin Division IV Sub-Section Tournament at Vista Del Lago at 9 a.m.

Olaya, the No. 5 seed in his bracket, was one of seven Weston Ranch wrestlers extend their season after pinning Manteca’s Marcus Avila (3:46).

Avila was the No. 6 seed and one of four Buffaloes moving on the divisional round.

“Our lone MUSD champion was (Olaya),” Weston Ranch head coach Pat King said. “He’s just a kid who grinds and comes to practice every day and works hard.”

Oakdale won the VOL Tournament as a team, taking 10 of the 14 weight classes.

Weston Ranch freshman Adrian Angulo (113) came up short in his third-place match against Sierra’s freshman standout Branden Rullan, one of five Timberwolves moving on.

Weston Ranch junior Uriel Salvador (120) took third with a victory over Kimball’s Matthew Jaurique. Harold Burks (152) and Marc Carganilla (182) both took fourth for the Cougars.

Brendan Curtwright (126) settled for second after losing against Oakdale’s Max Stevens, 4-0. Cody Simerly was the last Cougar to move on after losing in his championship bout against Oakdale’s Miguel Ibarra via pin early in the second round.

“We went into the year knowing that we’re extremely young, and they performed a little better every weekend,” King said. “(Saturday), they performed better than what we expected. They didn’t go out there and lay an egg.”

Lathrop’s Alex Garcia (120) placed second after losing to Oakdale’s Trevor Williams, who was a state qualifier last year. Garcia was one of five Spartans moving on to subs.

“(Williams) is a real tough, physical wrestler,” Lathrop head coach Vincent Garcia said. “Just a good all-around technician. He pinned Alex in the second round.”

Lathrop’s Enrique Bettancourt (138) won the consolation championship and went 3-1 doing so. Daniel Pinedo (145) won his third-place match, and so did Alejandro Torres (160). The Spartans’ Ian Chavez (170) came in fourth after injury defaulting against Sonora’s Paul Ravelli.

Aside from Rullan, Sierra will be shipping four more to divisionals

At 170 and 182, the T’Wolves had two second-place finishers in Lucas Widmer and Hunter Wheeler. Widmer couldn’t overcome a 3-0 loss against Oakdale’s Frank Trent. Wheeler was pinned by Sonora’s Jack Trent (2:27).

Sierra’s 106-pounder Vincent Marquez took third with a win over East Union freshman Jason Betlej – one of four Lancers’ moving on to subs. Sierra’s Julian Semenza (195) will move on after falling short 7-3 against EU’s Nick McGill for third.

McGill, Betlej, Jesus Vasquez (145)and heavyweight Mickey Villanueva are the four Lancers to advance. Vasquez took second to Oakdale freshman Abel Garcia, who pinned him in the third round. Villanueva took third by pinning Sonora’s Matt Tarantino.

Manteca will send three more to subs aside from Avila. The Buffaloes’ heavyweight Steven Martinez placed in the top four and will advance along with Matt Wilkerson (220 and Freddy Farias (145).

TVL Tournament

Ripon has 13 moving on to the Sac-Joaquin Division V Sub-Section Tournament this Saturday at Delhi High at 9 a.m.. The Indians finished second to Escalon with 170 points and crowned one Trans Valley League champion at 128. Edgar Gonzalez defeated Shane De Salles of Hilmar for the title, 13-0.

Matt Fisher (108) and Ryan Crandall (115) both lost their championship bouts, as did Tristan Smith (222) against Escalon’s Dominic Freesha. Javier Hernandez (140) and Gabe Barnett (147) both lost in their finals, too. Chris Delgado (122), Brent White (134) and Angelo Calderon (162) all lost in their consolation finals. Calderon came up short, 9-7.

 Cody Lehan (154) won his consolation for third against Modesto Christian’s Matt Harper. Andy Yciano (172) also finished third by pinning Orestimba’s Morgan Mack. Ripon’s Akashdeep Batth settled for fourth, but heavyweight David Goforth won third with a pin over Escalon’s Marc Camarena.