By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
RC’s Anema to be featured on milk carton
Bulletin sports 2019
Winners of the Sac-Joaquin Section’s A. Dale Lacky and Clark Coover scholarships are recognized on special-edition milk cartons by Crystal Creamery. - photo by Courtesy photo

Ripon Christian graduate Taylor Anema is among the 49 student-athletes in the Sac-Joaquin Section who will have their names featured on commemorative milk cartons.
A sponsor of the SJS since 2012, Modesto-based Crystal Creamery announced Friday that the four special-edition milk cartons are being delivered to local grocery and convenience stores from Los Banos to Marysville. The graduating seniors recognized are winners of the SJS A. Dale Lacky and Clark Coover scholarship awards.
“We are proud to honor the championship teams throughout the year, but we especially love to call attention each Spring to these outstanding student-athletes who lead both in the classroom and on the field,” Crystal Creamery Senior Director of Sales Brian Carden said in a statement.
“We produce these milk cartons because we want people to know about these local future leaders who have delivered in the classroom, on campus and in the community for the past four years.”
Anema earned a $450 scholarship and recognized during the section’s annual breakfast awards ceremony last month. She’s a two-time All-Southern League selection for the Ripon Christian volleyball team and also played basketball for four years and soccer for one. Headed for Dordt College in Iowa, Anema is RC’s class valedictorian.
“The Dale Lacky and Clarke Coover Scholarships are unique to the Sac-Joaquin Section and among the first scholarships ever awarded in the California Interscholastic Federation,” SJS Commissioner Michael Garrison stated. “We greatly appreciate Crystal Creamery choosing to recognize these recipients as it is a great way to further salute these student-athletes for their success.
“Each year, the winners of these scholarships are some of our region’s best and brightest young leaders and the students who received these scholarships this year are truly impressive.”