By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Ripon Knights junior varsity tames Sabres
Placeholder Image

The Ripon Knights junior varsity defense shut out the Big Valley Sabres in the second half Saturday for a 28-13 win in Trans-Valley Youth Football action.
Brooks Wheatley (interception), Peyton Reiseck, Manny Vierra, Carson Sanders and Stanley Kensic led the Knights with four tackles each. Thys Van der Hoek (safety), Andrew Mensonides and Jacob Camper added three stops each.
The balanced Ripon offense was led by Carson Sanders with 87 yards on 14 carries with a touchdown and Brooks Wheatley had 15 carries for 76 yards with two touchdowns.
Jace Beidleman hit Preston Zuidervaart in the back of the end zone for the other Knights touchdown.

Ripon Knights 25,
 Big Valley Sabres 6
 The Sabres scored their lone touchdown on a kickoff return.
The Knights defense was led by Brosy Nails with nine tackles and a forced fumble. Roman Guzman added seven tackles, Matthew Hunter Steele six, Mario Garcia (two fumble recoveries) and Brady Rossi (blocked punt) five apiece and Chapman four.
Devon Richardson led the Ripon offense with 110 yards passing and a touchdown throw of 53 yards to Dax Beidleman and of 35 yards to Steele. Nikko Juarez added two touchdown runs behind the offensive line of Garcia, Rossi, Joshua Jacobson, Chapman, Jimmy Heida, Logan Hargis, Johnathan Azevedo and Jesse Healy. 
Junior novice
(No score kept at this level)
Mason Durao had three of the eight Knights touchdowns.
Durao ran for two scores and threw for one. Gavin Decena added two Ripon scores with Landon Corcoran, Logan Qualls, Kaeo Sanchez and Jax Booth each adding one touchdown through the huge holes opened by Alex Bettencourt, Caelan Johnston, Nate New, Wyatt Prime, Jesse Walker, and Van Hendrix.
The hard-hitting Knights defense held the Sabres to one touchdown and was anchored by Anthony Alves,  Mason Brum, Jaiden Chandar, Evan Gyger, Jayden Huber, Keegan Kosaka, Dylan Parker, Alax Rader, Andrew Riberiro, and Carmelo Rodriguez.