By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
JVs perfect run produces championship
The Manteca Cowboy cheerleaders meet at midfield with the Modesto Panthers cheerleaders during halftime festivities of the junior varsity Super Bowl at Modesto Christian High.

SALIDA — Markus Radovan scored on a 7-yard rush on the Manteca varsity Cowboys’ second drive of their National Youth Football League Super Bowl contest at Modesto Christian High Saturday, and the rest was left up to the defense.

Manteca’s defense forced four turnovers to highlight an 8-6 victory over the Modesto Jr. Eagles and end the season at 11-2.

Mike Gonzalez rushed for 95 yards and converted Manteca’s deciding 2-point kick but did most of his damage on the other side of scrimmage, as he was named Defensive Player of the Game with seven tackles.

Super Bowl MVP Gabe Munoz turned in 70 rushing yards.

Also chipping in defensively were Billy Sharmoug with six tackles; and Chris Hocker, L.J. Alafatuili, Radovan and Munoz (interception) with five apiece.

Rigo Jauregui added four tackles and two pass deflections.

Junior varsity
The Cowboys rung up their 13th blowout victory in as many games with a 33-12 drubbing of the Modesto Panthers in the Super Bowl Saturday.

Manteca set the tone on the opening kickoff with an 88-yard touchdown from Dionicio Samoy. The Panthers tied it on the following drive, but it was all Cowboys the rest of the way after Nicholas Lucchetti sprinted 92 yards into the end zone on the ensuing kickoff.

Lucchetti would finish with 170 yards on nine rushes and caught a 33-yard TD strike from QB Jordan Perry. Lucchetti and Nathaniel Arriola tied for team-high honors with 11 tackles on defense.

Arriola also had 13 rushes go for 157 yards and a score. Jonathan Montoya also had a big game, finishing with eight tackles, a sack and a forced fumble defensively. His 7-yard touchdown run pushed Manteca ahead 19-6 in the second quarter.

Other defensive contributors were: Justin Scoz (five tackles, sack), Pawl Johnson (sack), Adrian Rodriguez (six tackles, two sacks) and Demaurier Blackwell (eight tackles, sack).

— Jonamar Jacinto