By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
MUST all-star games Saturday at East Union
Placeholder Image

The seventh Maryann Wallace Pangburn All-Star Classic will feature the top seventh- and eighth-grade boys and girls basketball players from Manteca Unified schools this Saturday at East Union High’s Dalben Center.

It has been the final event for the Manteca Unified Student Trust League basketball season for seven of the past eight years. The all-star girls game tips off at 1 p.m. with the boys contest to follow. Admission is $5 for adults and $2 for students.

Teams are broken by division, with Division I representing large schools and Division II small schools. Each game consists of four 10-minute quarters and will be officiated by high school-level referees. A Most Valuable Player will be selected from each team, and trophies will be presented by the Pangburn family. McParland School student and Division 1 Division 2 all-star Dreama Diaz is singing the national anthem.

Pangburn was a Manteca native who died from brain cancer in 2008. The all-star game was organized in her honor. She was a former volleyball standout for Manteca High, where she graduated from in 1989. She went on to play volleyball at Delta College and earned a bachelor’s degree from UC Davis.

Pangburn earned her teaching credential at CSU Stanislaus and began teaching for the Manteca Unified School District in 1995. She taught and coached for Sequoia and Woodward schools. Her husband, Michael Pangburn currently teaches at Lathrop High. Their daughters are East Union sophomore Michaela and Woodward School seventh grader Megan.

All-star players and coaches are:

Division 1 girls — Coach Ed Fang (Nile Garden), Rae Lene Finley (Joshua Cowell), Jayda Jackson (Joshua Cowell), Jaslyn Woods (Lincoln), Martha Avila (Lincoln), Jordan Hayter (Brock Elliott), Jannier Ismerio (New Haven), Natalia Diaz (Nile Garden), Kaileah Johannsen (Nile Garden), Malana Sagapolu (Sequoia), Destinee Hennemann (Shasta), Kyaira Jacobs (Woodward), Elisa Petersen (Veritas).

Division 2 girls — Coach Chris Wiseman (Mossdale), Khiya Thornton (Mossdale), Kayla Fermi (Mossdale), Zahbria Hendrix (Great Valley), Dolores Stewart (Widmer), Siumara Castellanos (Lathrop), Dearri Ross (August Knodt), Jennifer Garcia (Golden West), Dreama Diaz (Stella Brockman), Danielle James (McParland), Nia Boston (August Knodt), Akayla Jones (Komure).

Division 1 boys — Coach Shane Carpenter (Brock Elliott), Kyle Jackson (Brock Elliott), Steven Eaves (Brock Elliot), Egnacio Vera (Sequoia), Leonardo Bonilla (Joshua Cowell), Josh Hebert (New Haven), Jesse Martinez (Veritas), Trebron Russell (Veritas), Rashawn Ballard (Woodward), Matthew Dunham (Shasta), Eduardo Medina (Lincoln), Nolan Cawly (Nile Garden).

Division 2 boys — Coach Chris Graham (August Knodt), Walton Whaley III (Mossdale), Daniel Whaley (Mossdale), Titus Haley (August Knodt), Shawnte Livingston (August Knodt), Victor Murillo (Lathrop), Alex Cuevas (Great Valley), Austin Scott (McParland), Derek Santiago (Komure), Bernard Brito (Widmer), Marcus Sequeira (Golden West), Ryan Borgeson (Stella Brockman).