By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Ripon linemen make All-Trans-Valley team
Ripon running back Ryan Fugit scampers for the end zone with help from center Matt Kaiser during the Indians 49-21 Trans-Valley League victory over Hilmar. Kaiser is one of two Ripon linemen selected onto the All-TVL team. - photo by HIME ROMERO


• Coach of the Year: Mike Parsons, Modesto Christian

• Offensive Player of the Year: Korey Mora, Modesto Christian

• Defensive Player of the Year: Conner Dowd, Modesto Christian.

• Offense: OL — *Caleb Blakeley, Modesto Christian; Bo Capps, Escalon; Logan Widmer; Harrison Salvador, Ripon; Matt Kaiser, Ripon; Jacob DaBraeo, Hughson. WR — Hudson Harris, Hilmar; Brandon Grogan, Escalon; *Tyler May, Hughson; Devondre Stendardo, Hughson. RB — *Chris Brown, Modesto Christian; Zach Schott, Modesto Christian; Hunter Calton, Escalon; Wesley Dick, Escalon; Richard Herrera, Hughson. QB — Jonathon O’Brien, Hilmar.

• Defense: DL — Jose Ariza, Riverbank; Nick Orosco, Hilmar; Cory Mora, Modesto Christian; Caleb Blakeley, Modesto Christian; *Adam Roberson, Escalon; Matt Gallego, Escalon. OLB — Windsor Jamison, Modesto Christian; Javier Perez, Escalon; Richard Herrera, Hughson. ILB — Chris Souza, Hilmar; *Zach Schott, Modesto Christian; A.J. Camarena, Escalon. DB — *Luke Andrew, Modesto Christian; David Martinez, Escalon; Jeff Gaylord, Hughson. 

*Earned “Most Outstanding” honors for respective position.

Chris Johnson has said his 2014 offensive line was the best he’s had as Ripon’s head coach.

His claim was substantiated when two Ripon linemen were named to the All-Trans Valley League team. The young Indians, however, could not put it all together and finished with their worst record (3-7) since 2005. Seniors Matt Kaiser and Harrison Salvador are the only Ripon players represented on the All-TVL list. Last year, Ripon had eight voted onto the all-league team with three earning major awards after the Indians went 11-2 on the season and finished second in the TVL.

The 6-foot-1, 230-pound Kaiser anchored Ripon’s experienced offensive line at center, while the 5-11, 240-pound Salvador started at tackle. The team’s other tackle, Robert Taylor, earned honorable mention and was a first-team selection a year ago. The trio helped Ripon running backs average 182.9 yards per game.

Others making the honorable mention list were RB/DB Jacob Duxbury, WR/LB Cody Haines and LB Matthew Ysit. Duxbury was Ripon’s most productive all-purpose performer, as he accumulated 581 rushing yards, 364 rushing, 334 on special teams returns and nine total touchdowns. Haines was second on the defense with 45 tackles to go with four sacks and two interceptions. Ysit led all Indians with 89 tackles and 4.5 sacks.

League champion and Sac-Joaquin Section Division VI runner-up Modesto Christian (11-2) garnered the highest honors. Mike Parsons is Coach of the Year, center Kory Mora is Offensive Player of the Year and inside linebacker Conner Dowd is Defensive Player of the Year. 

Other Most Outstanding notables were: Modesto Christian offensive lineman Caleb Blakeley, Hughson receiver Tyler May, Modesto Christian running back Chris Brown, Escalon defensive lineman Adam Roberson, Modesto Christian linebacker Zach Schott and Modesto Christian defensive back Luke Andrew.