By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Lathrop falls to Sonora
Placeholder Image
Kelli Keefe accounted for 11 of Sonora High’s 17 fourth-quarter points, helping the Wildcats race past host Lathrop 53-34 in a Valley Oak League contest Thursday.

Keefe finished with 16 points.

Lathrop (0-2, 2-11 overall) hung tough for three quarters until Sonora (2-0, 6-7) widened its 36-26 lead.

Jasmine Elder paced Lathrop with 10 points. Freshman Diamond Gomez added eight points, and forward Erica Sanchez grabbed 10 rebounds to go with six points.

“I was really proud of the way the girls responded from our blowout loss (73-23 on Tuesday) at East Union,” Lathrop coach Ed Fang said. “We came back tonight, fought hard and really made a good game out of it.

“We were in the game all the way into the fourth quarter; we just couldn’t get key (defensive) rebounds that they turned into points.”

Lathrop will next host Manteca Tuesday.

Southern League
Ripon Christian 50, Waterford 41
In Waterford, the Knihts (2-0, 9-3) were paced by sophomore Kaylie Colyn’s 18 points.

Mikaela Alger added 13 points and 12 rebounds, and twin Morgan Alger chipped in with eight points. Jenna Viss pumped in 15 points for Waterford (1-1, 7-6).

Non-league boys
Ripon 58, Johansen 43

In Ripon, the Indians (7-7) won easily despite making just nine of 23 free throws.

Jared Ratto and Jake McCreath each fired 16 points, as 10 of Ripon’s 14 players scored.

Ripon, which is 1-0 in Trans Valley League play, has one more non-conference contest remaining, and that will be played tonight against Downey in Modesto.

“It’s a big one for us,” Ripon coach Rod Wright said. “Getting back to .500 in non-league could make a difference in the (postseason) power rankings.”

Lathrop 45, Sonora 32
Lathrop 43, Kimball 31
The Spartans (2-0) are tied with powerhouse Oakdale for first place after winning their first two VOL dual matches in Sonora Wednesday. Oakdale and Manteca visit Lathrop next Wednesday, Jan. 12.

Leading Lathrop were Andrew Aquino, Christian Pena, Omar Guzman, Carlos Fernandez and Mark Maynard, who each won twice.