By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
McFadden finishes career TVLs top offensive player
Ripon High all-everything Renae McFadden closed an illustrious Indian career with the TVL’s Top Offensive Player of the Year recently. - photo by Bulletin file photo

It was only fitting that when post-season accolades were distributed for Trans Valley League play, that nine Ripon Indians led the charge securing the most spots on the 2010 all-TVL team.

Leading scorer in school history, and arguably one of the most dynamic soccer players this area has seen in recent memory, Renae McFadden was honored as the league’s Top Offensive Player. McFadden lead Ripon on a 19-game unbeaten streak to close the season, pacing the Sac-Joaquin Section Division V Soccer Champions with 37 goals.

Ripon head coach Jose Bobadilla leaned on his defense while securing back-to-back section titles, and that meant leaning on his daughter Thalia Bobadilla, the Top Defensieve Player in the TVL. Thalia was a key component on a Ripon defense that outscored opponents 54-7 down the stretch run of its section championship season.

The Indians also landed goalkeeper extraordinaire Morgan Torres-Unger on the all-TVL squad, along with teammates Kallie Jacobs, Kelsey Meeuwse, Brianna Mortimmer and Tia Sidtikum.

Ripon Christian landed a pair of Knights on the all-TVL team, with Kathryn Van Gronigen and Hailey Kinser being voted on the squad. Ripon Christian’s Ashley Roberts, Janelle Engel, Rachel Kinser and Emily Leahy were recognized with honorable mention votes.

Lauren Goeppert, Samantha Evans and Katherine Ratto were also awarded honorable mention status. All three were integral in Ripon’s 20-2-3 section title season. The Indinas finished undefeated in TVL play, suffering a 1-1 tie to Hughson and a 1-1 tie with Modesto Christian.

Escalon High coach Jamie Peoples was voted TVL Coach of the Year. Cougar standout Annie Gallego and Modesto Christian’s Sierra Licata finished with Co-Most Valuable Player of the year honors.

— Jagada Chambers