By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
No contests for Ripon council or school races
Election Logo 2018.jpg

The incumbent filing period came and went last week for the November election.

There were no new candidate listings reported for either the Ripon Unified school board or Ripon City Council.

As it stands, incumbents Michael Restuccia and Dean Uecker refiled prior to the nomination period for City Council – officially, last Friday was the deadline, but Ripon City Hall was closed that day, leaving last Thursday as the cut-off date.

With no challengers for the two available posts, the Election Code does specify – according to City Clerk Lisa Roos – that City Council can take the following course of action:

Appoint to the office the person who have been nominated.

Appoint to the office any eligible voter if no one has been nominated.

Hold the election if either no one or only one person has been nominated.

Elected leaders are scheduled to meet at 5 p.m. Tuesday, Aug. 21, to discuss those options.

In the filing deadline for Trustee Area 2 in the Ripon Unified school board race had been extended to Wednesday  (Aug. 15), said Melinda Dubroff of the San Joaquin County Registrar of Voters office.

That’s seat held by incumbent Ernie Tyhurst, who is stepping down after his term expires towards the end of the year.

Annette Vande Pol is the qualified candidate currently running unopposed. Her election status is still pending. “If no one steps up (after Wednesday), it may not go to ballot,” Dubroff said on Monday.

Meanwhile, she indicated that current board President Chad Huskey (Trustee Area 1) and board Vice President Christopher ‘Kit’ Oase (Trustee Area 2) had filed long before the incumbent Friday deadline. The race for the unchallenged incumbents (Huskey and Oase), Dubroff said, will “not go to ballot.”

Once at-large voting, RUSD is now under the Trustee Area election format, meaning only those living in the boundaries of the up-for-grab seats can vote.

For more information, log on to for more information.