By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Annie Thompson picked as Ripon Unified district’s top certified employee
Ripon Schools

Superintendent Ziggy Robeson of the Ripon Unified School District recently announced Annie Thompson as the district’s Certified Employee of the Year.

She’s a sixth-grade teacher at Ripona Elementary School and now in the running for San Joaquin County Teacher of the Year.

Last year’s SJC Teacher of the Year was from RUSD, Texas Teo of Ripon Elementary School.

The San Joaquin County Office of Education mentioned Thompson along with Staci Diaz (El Portal Middle School / Escalon Unified), Tammy Hurst (Altamont Elementary / Lammersville Unified), Gary Pease (Jefferson School / Jefferson Elementary School District), and Robert Winterhalter (Lodi High / Lodi Unified) on the list of finalists for Teacher of the Year.

They’ll share the spotlight with the SJC’s Classified Employees of the Year winners at the June 9 celebration dinner sponsored by Premiere Community Credit Union. Retiring Escalon Unified Superintendent Ron Costa and Tracy Unified Superintendent Brian Stephens will also be honored at this special event.

Manteca Unified had two earning honors for SJC Classified Employees of the Year – Shelly Metcalfe (Food & Nutrition Services, Lathrop Elementary) and Lilia Martinez DeAredondo (Security Services, Great Valley).

Kelly Cabral (Clerical & Administrative Services, Tom Hawkins Elementary / Jefferson Elementary School District), Arthur Medina (Custodial & Maintenance Services, Lincoln Unified), Hector Calderon (Health & Student Services, one.Program / San Joaquin County Office of Education), Mary Gomez (Paraprofessional, Waterloo Middle School / Linden Unified), Debra Yanez (Skilled Trades, Stockton Unified), and Kitty Towers (Technical Services, Banta Unified) were also named as 2022 SJC Classified Employees of the Year.

According to SJCOE, each Classified Employee of the Year and Teacher of the Year finalists will receive $400, with the one named 2021-22 Teacher of the Year getting $1,000. The award money is made possible by Premier Community Credit Union.