By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Breakfast, ceremonies give Lathrop 8th graders send-off
Placeholder Image

The Lathrop Elementary School 8th grade class went out in style on Thursday morning as friends and family members of the promoting students gathered inside of the school’s multipurpose room for the annual community breakfast and promotion ceremony – a unique twist on the rite of passage as students move on to high school.
The ceremony, which began after the annual breakfast where students, parents, teachers and friends gather in the multipurpose room to break bread together, began with a salutation and Pledge of Allegiance from Alexis Zapien and Rafael Castellanos, the schools’ student body secretaries.
The Lathrop Elementary 4th through 6th grade choir sang the Star-Spangled Banner, and student body president Kevin Ballesteros Paz gave the address to his fellow students – reflecting on his time at Lathrop Elementary School, the impact of his experiences, and what he’s going to miss about his years with good friends and great teachers.
Lathrop High School Principal Michael Horwood, who will have many of the students promoting next year on his campus, gave the commencement address – another unique tradition that Lathrop Elementary has incorporated into its ceremony.
Chase Zwickey, the student body technology expert, gave the congratulating remarks once students were handed their certificates. Principal David Silveria, who came up with the unique ceremony several years ago to replace what had become a traditional graduation ceremony, gave the closing remarks.
Promoting on to high school are: Tricia Mae Albano, Anjanette Alcala, Laura Alvarez, Alexis Anguiano, Anairis Anguiano, Alondra Arreola, Kevin Ballesteros Paz, Angel Barberena, Dalton Barnes, Ke’mya Barnett, Kayla Bornea, Isaac Caballero, CJ Calairo, Juan Carrillo, Lizbeth Carrillo Carbajal, Ivan Castellanos, Rafael Castellanos, Patrisha Catacaataca, Ariela Chavez, Isaac Cortez, Manuel Deanda, Jareth Doctolero, Cienna Duenez, Amanda Fernandez, Magali Fernandez, Kimberly Franco, Andrea Garcia, Jose Gonzalez Chipres, Dominic Grant, Evelyn Guevara, Alondra Guzman, Isaac Hernandez, Judith Hernandez, Diana Hernandez Ceja, Yesenia Jenkins, Dennie Jex, Homer Johnson, Katelyn Jones, Impreet Kaur, Marissa Leornas, Joseph Lewis, Jaqueline Lopez, Isaiah Lozano Guffey, Evan Lum Russell, Jacob Lyle, Melissa Maldonado, Jose Marquez, Fatima Mejia Moreno, Marcus Miller, Yasmin Montes, Jose Morales, Olivianna Moreno, Karina Moreno-Andrade, Julia Munoz, Liliana Murillo, David Nevarez, Genaro Ochoa, Angel Ojeda, Lezly Ojeda, Gracy Orejel, Mario Palacios, Anjelica Perez, Damaris Peres Custodio, Mohamad Rahimi, Laylah Ramirez, Jason Ramos Sanchez, Andrea Raudales, Fernando Rios, Jasmine Rodriguez, Martin Rodriguez, Kevin Romero Sanchez, Lillian Sanchez, Jonathan Sandoval Aguilar, Gael Santos, Julian Silva, Bhavkirat Singh, Jaspreet Singh, Ashley Solis, Alexander Solorio, Christina Solorio Alvarenga, Crystal Solorio Alvarenga, Abran Soto, Jose Soto Aguilar, Kayla Surrell, Michelle Tangonan, Amaya Terry, Phil Tualla, Gabriala Urquidez, Marcos Valdovinos, Brianna Vazquez, Briana Vickrey, Jordan Villamor, Erik Villasenor Talavera, Arzhaun Walker, Jekhya Wise, Charisma Zapata, Alexis Zapien, Jaime Zapien and Chase Zwickey.
To contact reporter Jason Campbell email or call 209.249.3544.