By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Inductees selected for 2009 Manteca Sports Heroes Hall
Placeholder Image


• WHAT: Manteca Sports Heroes Hall of Distinction
• WHEN: Saturday, Feb. 28, 5 to 9:30 p.m.
• COST: $35 per ticket
• MORE INFO: Call the Manteca Convention & Visitors Bureau at 823-7229

Seven athletes who exemplified not just success in their chosen athletic endeavors but also in the standards they set as role models as well as the highly successful East Union High girls golf teams from 2006- to 2008 are being inducted into the Manteca Sports Heroes Hall of Distinction 2009.

The inductees are Ken Huckaby, baseball; Mike Morenzone, coach; R.C. Owens, football; Robert Scharmann, sports official; Bill Stricker, coach; Ron Strmiska, stock car racing; Kevin Wentworth, golf; as well as the East Union teams.

They are being honored on Saturday, Feb. 28, from 5 to 9:30 p.m. at the indoor soccer arena at the Big League Dreams sports complex. Tickets are $35 and are available through the Manteca Convention & Visitors Bureau by calling 823-7229.

The master of ceremonies this year will be  KTVU2 Sports Director Mark Ibanez.

Special guests who will be attending the event include San Francisco 49er Dan Bunz, San Francisco 49er  Eric Wright, founder and president of the African American Ethnic Hall of Fame Arif Khatib, masters track and field medalist Irene Obera, Olympian Cherrie Sherrard, and Pittsburgh Steeler, Mike Merriweather.